State Insurance Mandates for Autism Spectrum Disorder

(Certain insurance plans are exempt from state mandates. Please contact your plan administrator to see if your plan includes state mandated autism spectrum disorder benefits.)

The number of states that require health insurance coverage for autism continues to grow, whether through specific or limited coverage requirements or mental health parity. Those states that have specific or limited coverage generally cover speech language services through habilitative (learning a new process), rehabilitative (relearning a once known process) or therapeutic (treating through remedial methods) care.

Listed below is how each state addresses autism coverage though its state statues. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

States with Specific Autism Mandates

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin require certain insurers to provide coverage for autism spectrum disorder.

States with Limited Autism Mandates

North Dakota and Tennessee have some limited autism mandates.

States with No Coverage

Two states do not have insurance coverage mandates for autism spectrum disorder: Idaho and Wyoming.

ASHA Corporate Partners