State Insurance Mandates for Autism Spectrum Disorder

States With Limited Autism Mandates

The following states have limited autism mandates: North Dakota and Tennessee.

North Dakota

Requires an insurance company, nonprofit health service corporation, or health maintenance organization to deliver, issue, execute, or renew any health insurance policy or health service contract on a group or blanket or franchise or association basis to provide policy or contract provides benefits, of the same type offered under the policy or contract for other illnesses, for health services to any person covered under the policy or contract, for the diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of mental disorder and other related illness.

Citation: N.D. Cent. Code §26.1-36-09 [PDF] 


Requires a contract or policy of an insurer that provides benefits for neurological disorders, to provide benefits and coverage for treatment of autism spectrum disorders that are at least as comprehensive as those provided for other neurological disorders. These benefits and coverage for treatment shall be provided to any person less than twelve (12) years of age.

Note: Speech language services are not clearly defined in the statue, but may still apply.

Citation: Tenn. Code Ann. §56-7-2367

ASHA Corporate Partners