The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- A master's or doctoral degree program in audiology or speech-language pathology accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation or the Accreditation Council for Audiology Education of the American Academy of Audiology
- Complete a clinical internship of nine months of full-time professional employment under a licensed supervisor, unless in an exempt setting; the supervisor must have ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) or equivalent
- Passage of the Praxis Exam by ETS
- Complete jurisprudence online orientation
Note: Audiologists may dispense hearing aids under an audiology license.
- Physicians and persons under the direct supervision/control of a physician, providing such a person is not referred to as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist
- Federal employees for activities within that agency
- Any person certified as a speech correctionist or speech-language specialist certified by the state Department of Education
- Students, fellows, trainees in audiology or speech-language pathology if services constitute a part of a course of study under a licensed supervisor
- Hearing aid dispensers
- Any person engaged in an activity for which they are licensed to perform
- Persons with a business interest, as long as clinical services are performed by licensed audiologists or speech-language pathologists and a statement is filed with the director of the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Advisory Committee.
An applicant who is currently licensed in another state as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist which has substantially equivalent requirements for licensure as those in New Jersey may obtain licensure without providing proof of achieving a passing score on the Praxis Examination in audiology or speech-language pathology.
- The director of the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Advisory Committee may issue a temporary license to any new resident (six month minimum) who has applied for licensure and who holds a state license in their previous state of residence. Such license is good for one year and cannot be renewed.
- Clinical interns must obtain a temporary license for a period not to exceed 18 months.
Licensees must complete 20 hours of continuing education per biennium; five hours in excess may be carried over if earned within the six months prior to license renewal. Licensees for the 2015 renewal must complete the jurisprudence online orientation for renewal.
Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology Interstate Compact
New Jersey is not a member state of the Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology Interstate Compact. Information on the current status of the ASLP-IC can be found on the ASLP-IC website.
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Advisory Committee
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Affairs Team.