Advancing Academic-Research Careers (AARC) Award Recipients

ASHA is pleased to announce this year's AARC Award recipients. AARC supports the Association's Strategic Objective to Increase Research Commitment. This $5,000 award is given to new faculty in higher education to support their academic and research endeavors in the field of communication sciences and disorders (CSD). The AARC has been awarded since 2004.

2023 Recipients

Rebecca Bawayan, Moravian University
Teaching Mentor: Shari Dunham, Moravian University
Research Mentor: Geralyn Timler, James Madison University

Teresa Girolamo, San Diego State University
Teaching Mentor: Sonja Pruitt-Lord, San Diego State University
Research Mentor: Karen Emmorey, San Diego State University

Kelly Jahn, The University of Texas at Dallas
Teaching Mentor: Andrea Warner-Czyz, The University of Texas at Dallas
Research Mentor: Edward Lobarinas, The University of Texas at Dallas

Erin L. Meier, Northeastern University
Teaching Mentor: Ennio Mingolla, Northeastern University
Research Mentors: Emily Zimmerman, Northeastern University; AC Shillue-Goldberg, Transplaining LLC, The CREDIT Institute, Inc., and Northeastern University

Brandon Merritt, The University of Texas at El Paso
Teaching Mentor: Susannah Levi, New York University
Research Mentor: Benjamin Munson, The University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Amy K. Peterson, University of Wyoming
Teaching Mentors: Erin Bush, Florida State University; Kelly Farquharson, Florida State University
Research Mentors: Kelly Farquharson, Florida State University; Erin Bush, Florida State University

Chelsea Privette, The University of Texas at Austin
Teaching Mentors: Maria Rosa Brea-Spahn, New York University; Tasha Austin, University at Buffalo
Research Mentor: Mary Beth Schmitt, University of Texas at Austin

Gabriella Reynolds, Long Island University Post
Teaching Mentor: Nicole Magaldi, Long Island University Post
Research Mentor: Beverly Trezek, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Elizabeth Roepke, Saint Louis University
Teaching Mentor: Sara Steele, Saint Louis University
Research Mentor: Françoise Brosseau-Lapré, Purdue University

Pumpki Lei Su, The University of Texas at Dallas
Teaching Mentor: Emily Touchstone, The University of Texas at Dallas
Research Mentor: Sudha Arunachalam, New York University

Soumya Venkitakrishnan, California State University, Sacramento
Teaching Mentor: Darla Hagge, California State University, Sacramento
Research Mentor: Erin Picou, Vanderbilt University

Previous Recipients


Maria Bane, Eastern Kentucky University
Casey Keck, Towson University
Nimisha Muttiah, State University of New York, College at Cortland
Sri Nandamudi, Grand Valley State University
Kate Nealon, Kean University
Melissa Polonenko, University of Minnesota
Prarthana Shivabasappa, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces
Michelle Turner Swartz, Thomas Jefferson University
Lesley Sylvan, Montclair State University
Celia Zhang, University of the Pacific


Crystle Alonzo, San Diego State University
Shruti Deshpande, St. John’s University
Hope Gerlach, Western Michigan University
Ann Guernon, Lewis University
Tyson Harmon, Brigham Young University
Roha Mariam Kaipa, Oklahoma State University
Thea Knowles, University at Buffalo
Victoria McKenna, University of Cincinnati
Katrina Nicholas, California State University, East Bay
Claire Wofford, Western Carolina University

ASHA Corporate Partners