Colorado Assistants (Support Personnel) Requirements

The following information includes audiology and speech-language pathology assistants and support personnel in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Speech-Language Pathology

School Setting Requirements

School Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

  1. Bachelor's degree in speech-language pathology, speech communication, communication disorders, speech sciences, or a bachelor's degree in any other field with 24 credits in speech-language hearing sciences from an accepted institution of higher education;
  2. Successful completion of a school speech-language pathology assistant program at a regionally or nationally accredited institution;
  3. Successful completion of a minimum of 100 hours school-based practicum, under the supervision of an American Speech-Language-Hearing Association certified and license school SLP; and
  4. Demonstrated knowledge and skills in the required competencies.
  5. Supervision is 30% total for the first 90 days with 20% being direct supervision and 10% being indirect. After 90 days, 20% total supervision with 10% being direct supervision and 10% being indirect.
  6. Direct supervision may be conducted electronically via a live internet broadcast of video conference by a nationally-certified SLP residing and working in Colorado or within a reasonable commuting distance to Colorado. A school speech-language pathology assistant authorization is valid for five years. The Department of Education may renew the authorization for succeeding five-year periods upon presentation of 50 contact hours of continuing education.
  7. A speech-language pathologist should not supervise more than three assistants.
  8. A school speech-language pathology assistant authorization is valid for five years.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Speech-language pathology assistants are not certified under the state certification law.

Other Requirements

Under the Colorado Department of Early Childhood, minimum standards for speech-language pathology assistants include possessing the ASHA SLP Assistant’s Certification. 


School Setting Requirements

Audiology support personnel are not regulated in this setting.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Hearing Aid Provider Apprentices

  • No new trainee or associate's licenses will be issued as of July 1, 2013.
  • A hearing aid provider apprentice is an individual who has completed a minimum of 300 hours of on-site supervised practice with a licensed audiologist. Apprentices must pass the International Licensing Exam developed by the International Hearing Society or another appropriate entry-level examination approved by the Director.


For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit these websites:

School Setting Requirements:

To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trend chart which is updated at the end of each calendar year: 

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners