COVID-19 UPDATES: Find news and resources for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and the public.
Latest Updates | Telepractice Resources | Email Us

Louisiana Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Audiologist

Provisional Certificate Audiologist (valid for 3 years, nonrenewable)

  • Master's degree in audiology or equivalent earned at a regionally accredited college or university; and
  • Verification that applicant will work under the supervision of a licensed audiologist.

Qualified Licensed Audiologist 

  • Master's degree in audiology or equivalent earned at a regionally accredited college or university; and
  • Current Louisiana licensure as an audiologist.

Valid as long as holder maintains current Louisiana audiology license.

Continuing Education Requirement

Ten hours, five of which shall be in the area of licensure, and five may be in areas related to the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology.

Speech-Language Pathologist

Provisional Certificate in Speech Pathology (valid for 3 years, nonrenewable)

Master's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in speech pathology.

Qualified Certificate in Speech Pathology

  • Master's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in speech pathology,
    and
  • Louisiana license as a speech pathologist.

Valid as long as holder maintains current Louisiana speech pathology license. 

Speech Therapist (valid for 3 years)

  • Master's degree in speech communication disorders earned at a regionally accredited college or university; and
  • Verification that applicant holds ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC); OR
  • Verification from the director of an ASHA-certified training program, in which the applicant has completed a master's degree, that ASHA requirements for the CCC have been met (with the possible exception of the clinical fellowship year).

Continuing Education Requirement

Ten hours, five of which shall be in the area of licensure, and five may be in areas related to the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology.

Regulatory Oversight

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners