Students Preparing for Academic and Research Careers (SPARC) Award Recipients

The SPARC Award is offered as part of ASHA's Strategic Objective to Increase Research Commitment. The goal of SPARC is to foster students' interest in the pursuit of PhD education and careers in academia in order to fill faculty/researcher vacancies in communication sciences and disorders (CSD). It allows students to prepare for successful PhD education and exciting careers in research and teaching. The SPARC Award gives students an opportunity to participate in teaching and research with guidance from a mentor and travel to enhance teaching and research exposure. The SPARC has been awrded since 2004.

2017 Recipients

Kali Cika, Gallaudet University
Primary Mentor: Karen Garrido-Nag

Sharice Clough, University of Iowa
Primary Mentor: Jean Gordon

Rachel Ellinger, Northwestern University
Primary Mentor: Pamela Souza

Katherine Goble, Saint Mary's College
Primary Mentor: Carla Youngdahl

Nafiah Khan, Eastern Michigan University
Primary Mentor: Ana Cladia Harten

Fanting Kung, University of Illinois–Champaign/Urbana
Primary Mentor: Raksha Mudar

Nicole Larsen, University of New Mexico
Primary Mentor: Jessica Richardson

Emily Metze, University of South Carolina
Primary Mentor: Krystal Werfel

Taryn Sanwald, Temple University
Primary Mentor: Edwin Maas

Tanner Smith, Western Kentucky University
Primary Mentor: Janice Smith

Michael Smith, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Primary Mentor: Katarina Haley

Sarah Sparks, Gallaudet University
Primary Mentor: Chizuko Tamaki

Faith Stagge, Saint Louis University
Primary Mentor: Travis Threats

Austin Thompson, Louisiana State University
Primary Mentor: Yunjung Kim

Recent Recipients


Shealyn Ashby, University of Illinois–Urbana/Champaign
Hannah Burton, Eastern Michigan University
Courtney Craft, University of Central Arkansas
Sidorela Doci, Syracuse University
Steven Gianakas, University of Washington
Amanda Good, Oklahoma State University
Abby Isabelle, University of Missouri
Rebekah Keith, University of Tennessee–Knoxville
Zora McFarlane-Blake, University of Illinois–Urbana/Champaign
Jacob McKinley, University of Missouri
Susie Nam, University of Oregon
Lauren Renken, New Mexico State University
Jennifer Smasne, University of Washington
Sara Straley, University of South Carolina
Torri Ann Woodruff, Gallaudet University


Sheida Abdi, University of South Carolina
Sara Acton, Eastern Michigan University
Kelly McHugh, Northwestern University
Carolyn Michener, Boston University
Erin Nelson, Washington University School of Medicine
Marisa Policicchio, Miami University
Stacey Sangtian, University of South Carolina
Tara Sheridan, CUNY Queens College
Jeanna Stiadle, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Alexander Swiderski, Portland State University
Elizabeth Torres, University of New Mexico

ASHA Corporate Partners