COVID-19 UPDATES: Find news and resources for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and the public.
Latest Updates | Telepractice Resources | Email Us

Tennessee Telepractice Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of audiology and/or speech-language pathology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Telepractice State Licensure Board Requirements

Tennessee allows telepractice. The provider must hold a state license and adhere to the same requirements as in-person practice. Clinicians must inform clients of the available service delivery options and shall obtain their consent to the use of telecommunication technology for the delivery of services before that method of service delivery is utilized.

Reference: Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1370-01-.21.

Temporary Practice for Out-of-State Providers

Non-residents who are not licensed in this state may provide speech-language pathology or audiology services if such services are performed for not more than 5 days in any calendar year and the person meets the requirements for licensure in this state. Non-residents who are licensed in another state may offer services for not more than 30 days per calendar year provided that the person meets current Tennessee state licensure requirements.

Reference: Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-17-114, Exemptions (2019). 

Telesupervision State Licensure Board Laws and Regulations

This state has no laws or regulations for telesupervision. Check with the state or ASHA to learn about emergency or temporary provisions.

Support Personnel

No regulations.

Clinical Fellow

No regulations.

Student Intern

No regulations.

Telepractice Reimbursement Laws and Regulations

Telepractice Private Insurance 

Tennessee mandates coverage for telehealth in state-regulated private health plans, including audiology and speech-language pathology services. Certain coverage limitations apply.

Reference: Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-7-1002, SB 8003 (2020).

Telepractice Medicaid Reimbursement Laws and Regulations

Tennessee reimburses for Telepractice under Medicaid for health care and school settings. All TN Medicaid recipients are enrolled in a Managed Care Plan. Eligible providers include every profession licensed under state title 63, which includes SLPs and audiologists.

Reference: Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-7-1002SB 8003 (2020). 

ASHA Guidance

Telepractice State Licensure

  • Obtain a license from the state in which you reside and verify the requirements from the state in which the patient/client resides, which may include in-state licensure. If a state has not established regulations on telepractice, then contact the licensure board for further guidance and ask for written verification.
  • It is the responsibility of the clinician to review the regulations on the state licensure board website in their entirety and regularly for updates or changes.

Telesupervision

If a state has not established regulations on telesupervision, then contact the licensure board for further guidance and ask for written verification.

Reimbursement for Telepractice Services

Audiologists and speech-language pathologists should keep in mind that while a state may have passed telepractice reimbursement laws and/or regulations, this does not guarantee that payers will reimburse for these services. Learn more about considerations for audiologists and speech-language pathologists.

Resources

For further information on telepractice requirements for audiologists and speech-language pathologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners