COVID-19 UPDATES: Find news and resources for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and the public.
Latest Updates | Telepractice Resources | Email Us

Alaska Telepractice Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of audiology and/or speech-language pathology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Telepractice State Licensure Board Requirements

This state has licensure laws and or regulations allowing telepractice. The provider must hold a state license and adhere to the same requirements as in-person practice and do the following:

  • Assess the patient’s level of comfort in receiving services via telepractice and adjust the treatment plan accordingly
  • Use a facilitator at the client’s location, when appropriate
  • Ensure the client can contact a licensed provider in-person as part of their treatment plan
  • Attempt to obtain written consent from the client to send all records to the client’s primary care provider

Reference: Alaska Department of Commerce Community and Economic Development, Order Adopting Changes to 12 AAC 07, Audiologists, Speech-Language Pathologists and Speech-Language Pathologist Assistants (October 2019).

Telepractice for Out-of-State Providers

The state may issue a temporary license to audiologists licensed in another state for up to 30 days. The state may issue a temporary license to SLPs licensed in another state up to 60 days.

Reference: Alaska Department of Commerce Community and Economic Development, Statutes and Regulations Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dealers, Speech-Language Pathologists, and Speech-Language Pathologist Assistant (Sec. 08.11.020 – Sec. 08.11.025).

Telemedicine Business Registry.

The following fees are established for registration under AS 44.33.381 (telemedicine business registry) for businesses performing telemedicine services in this state; (1) initial registration fee, $50; (2) fee to report changes in the information on the initial registration, $50.

Reference: Alaska Admin Code tit. 12 §02.106 [PDF]

Telesupervision State Licensure Board Laws and Regulations

Telesupervision is permitted for support personnel with direct and indirect supervision. Direct supervision means that the supervisor is on-site or available by real-time electronic means and may include demonstration, coaching, and observation. Indirect supervision means supervision by telephone or intermittent on-site visits.

Reference: Alaska Stat. § 08.11.200 (Sec. 08.11.042 - 08.11.045) [PDF]

Clinical Fellow

No regulations.

Student Intern

No regulations.

Telepractice Reimbursement Laws and Regulations

Telepractice Private Insurance 

No permanent laws or regulations identified that include audiology or speech-language pathology. However, check with the state or ASHA to learn about emergency or temporary provisions.

Telepractice Medicaid

The law includes reimbursement for audiology and speech-language pathology services. Alaska will pay for medical services provided through telepractice as an alternative to traditional methods of delivery services to Medicaid recipients. To be eligible, a Medicaid provider must comply with the following:

  • The service must be live through the use of a camera, video, or dedicated audio conference equipment. Telephone-only services are not permitted; or
  • The service must be provided through the transfer of digital images, sounds, or previously recorded video from one location to another to allow a consulting provider to obtain information, analyze it, and report back to the referring provider; or
  • The services must be provided by a telemedicine application based in the recipient's home, with the provider only indirectly involved in the provision of the service.

Reference: Alaska Admin Code tit. 7 §110.620 

ASHA Guidance

Telepractice State Licensure

  • Obtain a license from the state in which you reside and verify the requirements from the state in which the patient/client resides, which may include in-state licensure. If a state has not established regulations on telepractice, then contact the licensure board for further guidance, and ask for written verification.
  • It is the responsibility of the clinician to review the regulations on the state licensure board website in their entirety and regularly for updates or changes.

Telesupervision

If a state has not established regulations on supervision or telesupervision, then contact the licensure board for further guidance and ask for written verification.

Reimbursement for Telepractice Services

Audiologists and speech-language pathologists should keep in mind that while a state may have passed telepractice reimbursement laws and/or regulations, this does not guarantee that payers will reimburse for these services. Learn more about considerations for audiologists and speech-language pathologists.  

Resources

For further information on telepractice requirements for audiologists and speech-language pathologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners