ASHA State Education Advocacy Leaders (SEALs)

State Advocacy Networks - SEALsState Education Advocacy Leaders (SEALs) are appointed by ASHA recognized state speech-language hearing associations to advocate on education issues. These issues may include caseload/workload, salary supplements, and maintenance of personnel standards in school settings. SEALs can be speech-language pathologists or audiologists. SEALs can be audiologists or speech-language pathologists (SLPs). The mission of the SEALs network is to enhance and perpetuate the advocacy, leadership, and clinical management skills of school-based ASHA members at the state and local levels to influence administrative and public policy decisions that affect the delivery of speech-language pathology and audiology services in school settings.

Do you have an education issue in your state that needs to be addressed? Find your state's SEAL below and e-mail them your concerns.

Are you interested in starting a campaign? SEALs Regional Champions work with school-based audiologists and SLPs to promote the valuable contributions you make in the schools!

For more information on SEALs activities in states contact Eileen Crowe, ASHA's Director for State Association Relations, by e-mail at ECrowe@asha.org.

Contact Information

Alabama
Taryn Garcia Hopper               
tarynhopper@gmail.com  

Alaska
Monica Glen
monicaglenslp@gmail.com

Arizona
Kelli Gladieux                                                                                     
kelg@aol.com 

Arkansas
Lauren Rogers
slp.laurenrogers@gmail.com

Carol Fleming
carol.fleming@lrsd.org

California
Francine Wenhardt
fwenhardtSLP@gmail.com  

Colorado
Allison Foster                                                  
afosterslp@gmail.com   

Connecticut
Shannon Darak
sdarak@milforded.org

Delaware
Patty Pfeifer
mpar1985@gmail.com

District of Columbia
Terese Grimmett
terese1908@gmail.com   

Florida
Lyndsey Pollack Zurawski
LyndseySLP@gmail.com

Georgia
Laura R Nichols
lrnichol@uga.edu

Emily Mohr
Emily.mohr.slp@gmail.com 

Hawaii  
Erin Firmin
slp.erin.firmin@gmail.com

Idaho
Amy Zuroff
amy.zuroff@yahoo.com 

Illinois
Karen Kockler
kkockler1975@gmail.com

Indiana
Keegan Koehlinger-Wolf
keegan.koehlinger@gmail.com

Iowa
Colin Nies
colinnies@gmail.com

Kansas
(Vacant)

Kentucky
Cali Sills                                                                                                                                          
cali.sills@gmail.com

Louisiana  
Felice Glapion
chargerette92@hotmail.com

Maine  
Meg Jackins
megjackins@gmail.com

Maryland
Meredith Adams
madams4@bcps.org

Massachusetts
Briana O'Neill
boneillslp@gmail.com

Michigan
Courtney Halbower
courtneyahalbower@gmail.com

Minnesota
Malka Key
malka.key@gmail.com

Mississippi
Mallory Putnam                                         
Mallory.putnam@dcsms.org 

Missouri
Pat Jones                                                                                    
pcjones@sbcglobal.net

Kimberly Stewart
kkstewart@ucmo.edu

Montana
Sally Klatt
klatts19@bresnan.net

Nebraska
Theresa Mourey
theresamourey@gmail.com

Jessica Thoene
jessica@alpharehab.com

Nevada
Nancy Kuhles
nkuhles119@gmail.com

Roberta Johnson
krjohnson@sbcglobal.net

New Hampshire
Meagan Morgan
Mmorganslp@gmail.com 

New Jersey
Melissa Eldred
MeldredSLP@yahoo.com

New Mexico
Shelly Kastler-Davis
skdatabq@gmail.com

New York
Karen McCrossen
kbmslp@aol.com

North Carolina
(Vacant)

North Dakota
Linda Hoag
linda_hoag@bismarckschools.org

Ohio
Matt Hott    
matt.hott85@gmail.com   

Oklahoma
Nicole Power                                            
slpinspiration@gmail.com

Oregon
Janet Wagner
jwagnerslp@gmail.com

Overseas
Kim Gardner-Pumah
evettegardner@hotmail.com

Pennsylvania
Hope Warner
hwarner52811@gmail.com

Rhode Island
Mary Jo Reidy
mjreidy@gmail.com

South Carolina
Miranda Grice      
mgrice@lexington4.net

South Dakota
Brittany Hemenway                                                                                                                                                               
Brittany.Hemenway@k12.sd.us

Tennessee
Paulette W. Gentry
paulette.gentry@mnps.org

Texas
Margarita Limon-Ordonez
margarita.limon-ordonez@hayscisd.net

Utah
Joelle Rasmussen
jrasmussenslp@gmail.com

Vermont
Danielle Kent
daniellegkent@gmail.com 

Virginia
Jacquelyn Ragland
Jacquelyn.Ragland@charlottesvilleschools.org

Washington
Samantha Moody
smoody@Centralia.wednet.edu

West Virginia
Lisa McKinney Jackson
lisa_slp717@hotmail.com

Wisconsin
Dawn Merth-Johnson
rivcoach.johnson@gmail.com

Roxanne Pilger
Roxanne.pilger@ebshealthcare.com

Wyoming
Laura Nickerson
laura.a.nickerson@gmail.com

Erin M. Page
erinmichel@hotmail.com

SEALs Regional Champions

Midwestern Region – Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin
Dawn Merth-Johnson
rivcoach.johnson@gmail.com

Northern Region – Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Ohio, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont
Contact your SEAL listed above for assistance.

Southern Region – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia
Jacquelyn Ragland
Jacquelyn.Ragland@charlottesvilleschools.org 

Western Region – Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
Nancy Kuhles
nkuhles119@gmail.com

The contact information was current at the time it was submitted to ASHA by the network representative.

ASHA Corporate Partners