Advancing Academic-Research Careers (AARC) Award Recipients

ASHA is pleased to announce this year's AARC Award recipients. AARC supports the Association's Strategic Objective to Increase Research Commitment. This $5,000 award is given to new faculty in higher education to support their academic and research endeavors in the field of communication sciences and disorders (CSD). The AARC has been awarded since 2004.

2018 Recipients

Jessica Caron, Pennsylvania State University
Teaching Mentor: David McNaughton, Pennsylvania State University
Research Mentor: Janice Light, Pennsylvania State University

Tepanta Fossett, Loyola University Maryland
Teaching Mentor: Lena Caesar, Loyola University Maryland
Research Mentor: Karen Forrest, Indiana University–Bloomington

Kendrea Garand, University of South Alabama
Teaching Mentor: Julie Estis, University of South Alabama
Research Mentor: Jennifer Friberg Illinois State University

Sarah Leopold, Utah State University
Teaching Mentor: Karen Muñoz Utah State University
Research Mentor: Ron Gillam, Utah State University

Peter Meulenbroek, University of Kentucky
Teaching Mentors: Judith Page, University of Kentucky and Richard Andreatta, University of Kentucky
Research Mentors: Leanne Togherm University of Sydney and Patrick Kitzman, University of Kentucky

Kathleen Nagle, Seton Hall University
Teaching Mentors: Doreen Stiskal, Seton Hall University and Vikram Dayalu, Seton Hall University
Research Mentor: Kathryn Yorkston, University of Washington

Ashwini Namasivayam-MacDonald, Adelphi University
Teaching Mentor: Susan Lederer, Adelphi University
Research Mentor: Cathy Lazarus, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Arnold Olszewski, Miami University
Teaching Mentor: Amber Franklin, Miami University
Research Mentor: Kate de Medeiros, Miami University

Eun Jin Paek, University of Tennessee
Teaching Mentor: Mark Hedrick, University of Tennessee
Research Mentors: Julius Fridriksson, University of South Carolina and Melissa Duff, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Meredith Saletta, State University of Iowa
Teaching Mentor: Patricia Zebrowski University of Iowa
Research Mentor: Tiffany Hogan, Massachusetts General Hospital Institute of Health Professions

Recent Recipients


Rebecca Affoo, Central Michigan University
Rebecca Alper, Temple University
Christopher Bolinger, Texas Woman's University
Michael Boyle, Montclair State University
Erin Bush, University of Wyoming
Alison Hendricks, University of Buffalo
Ramesh Kaipa, Oklahoma State University
Kelly Knollman-Porter, Miami University
Samantha Shune, University of Oregon
Casey Taliancich-Klinger, Our Lady of the Lake University


Mona Botezatu, University of Missouri
Shari DeVeney, University of Nebraska–Omaha
Emily Diehm, University of Toledo
Stacy Harnish, Ohio State University
Kimberly Meigh, West Virginia University
Jennifer Mozeiko, University of Connecticut
Kimberly Murza, University of Northern Colorado
Alison Scheer-Cohen, California State University–San Marcos
Aaron Shield, Miami University
Kimberly Smith, University of South Alabama
Lauren Swineford, Washington State University

ASHA Corporate Partners