COVID-19 UPDATES: Find news and resources for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and the public. 
Latest Updates | Telepractice Resources | Email Us 

National Joint Committee for the Communication Needs of Persons with Severe Disabilities (NJC)

Member Organizations of the NJC

At Large Representative

Bill T. Ogletree, PhD, CCC-SLP (Committee Chair)
Catherine Brewer Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders 
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Western Carolina University
3971 Little Savannah Road
Cullowhee, NC 28723 
Phone: 828-227-3379 
E-mail: ogletree@wcu.edu

AAIDD Representative 

Mary Ann Romski, PhD, CCC-SLP 
Department of Communication
Georgia State University
P.O. Box 5060 
Atlanta, GA 30203-5060
Phone: 404-413-5666 (office and lab)  
E-mail: mromski@gsu.edu

AOTA Representatives 

Judith Schoonover, MEd, OTR/L, ATP, FAOTA                                                          
Independent Consultant              
5110 Rosabelle Beach Avenue
Holland, MI 49424              
Phone: 703-727-8337                
E-mail: Jschoonover93@gmail.com 

AOTA Staff/Ex Officio

Varleisha D. Gibbs PhD, OTD, OTR/L
Vice President, Practice Engagement and Capacity Building
American Occupational Therapy Association
6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 200
North Bethesda, MD 20852
Phone: 240-752-1187 
E-mail: vgibbs@aota.org

APTA Representative

Mari Therrien, PT, DSc
Physical Therapist & Researcher
Lil' Explorers Pediatric Therapy & Florida State University
201 W. Bloxham Street
Tallahassee, FL 32301
E-mail: mrtherrien@fsu.edu

ASHA Representatives

Andrea Barton-Hulsey, PhD, CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor
School of Communication Science and Disorders
Florida State University
201 W. Bloxham Street
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: 850-644-7285
E-mail: abartonhulsey@fsu.edu

Nicole L. Tripp, MS, CCC-SLP
Spring Branch Independent School District
Office of Special Education
2100 Shadowdale Drive
Houston, TX  77043
Phone: 832-452-7087
E-mail:  nicole.tripp@springbranchisd.com

ASHA Staff/Ex Officio

Diane Paul, PhD, CCC-SLP 
Director, Clinical Issues in Speech-Language Pathology              
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
2200 Research Boulevard #350
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 301-296-5688
E-mail: DPaul@asha.org

Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs (ATAP) Representative 

Beth Mineo, PhD, CCC-SLP 
Director, Center for Disabilities Studies
Associate Professor, School of Education 
University of Delaware
461 Wyoming Road, Room 123
Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302-831-1589
E-mail: mineo@udel.edu

DCD (CEC) Representative

Susan Bruce, PhD
Boston College
210 Campion Hall
140 Commonwealth Avenue
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3813
Phone: 617-552-4239
E-mail: susan.bruce@bc.edu

TASH Representative  

Karen Erickson, PhD
The Center for Literacy & Disability Studies University of North Carolina
321 S. Columbia Drive
Bondurant Hall, Suite 1100, CB 7335
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: 919-966-8828
E-mail: erickson@unc.edu

USSAAC Representatives

Amy S. Goldman, CCC-SLP 
c/o 219 Catharine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
Phone: 215-990-3931 
E-mail: amy.sue.goldman219@gmail.com  

Rose A. Sevcik, PhD
Department of Psychology
Georgia State University
P.O. Box 5010
Atlanta, GA 30302-5010
Phone: 404-413-6296
E-mail: rsevcik@gsu.edu