Clinical Practice Research Institute (CPRI) Past Participants

The purpose of the Institute is to accelerate the generation of research to support evidence-based practice in communication sciences and disorders. An awardee is a principle investigator on the grant prepared through CPRI, and key personnel are individuals identified by the awardee(s) to serve on that grant. CPRI consultants are experienced researchers who volunteer to assist in the preparation of the grant.


Team 1

  • Awardees: Tara McAllister, New York University and Jonathan Preston, Syracuse University 
  • CPRI Consultants: Jed Meltzer, Baycrest and Katie Hustad, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Team 2

  • Awardee: Katrina Nicholas, California State University, East Bay
  • CPRI Consultant: Karla McGregor, Boys Town National Research Hospital

Team 3

  • Awardee: Rachael Harrington, Georgia State University
  • CPRI Consultant: Kyrana Tsapkini, The John Hopkins School of Medicine


Team 1

  • Awardee: Angela Bonino, University of Colorado Boulder
  • CPRI Consultant: Rebecca Landa, Kennedy Krieger Institute

Team 2

  • Awardee: Sonja Molfenter, New York University
  • CPRI Consultant: Emily Plowman, University of South Florida


Team 1

  • Awardees: Elaine Hitchcock, Montclair State University, and Kathryn Cabbage, Brigham Young University
  • CPRI Consultants: David Maxwell, Emerson College, and Holly Storkel, The University of Kansas

Team 2

  • Awardee: Barbara Cone, The University of Arizona
  • CPRI Consultants: Laurie Eisenberg, University of Southern California, and Valerie Sung, The Royal Children's Hospital

Team 3

  • Awardees: Emily Quinn, Oregon Health & Science University, and Mollie Romano, Florida State University
  • CPRI Consultant: Christina Studts, University of Colorado Children’s Hospital Colorado

Team 4

  • Awardee: Allison Hilger, University of Colorado Boulder
  • CPRI Consultant: Julie Liss, Arizona State University

Team 5

  • Awardee: Yang-soo Yoon, Baylor University
  • CPRI Consultant: Raymond Goldsworthy, University of Southern California

Team 6

  • Awardee: McKay Sohlberg, University of Oregon
  • CPRI Consultant: John Seeley, University of Oregon

Team 7

  • Awardee: Sue Ann Lee, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  • CPRI Consultants: Ann Kummer, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, and Susan Rvachew, McGill University


  • Awardee: Ginger Collins, University of Montana
  • CPRI Consultant: Suzanne Adlof, University of South Carolina


Team 1

  • Awardee: Anthony Koutsoftas, Seton Hall University and Cynthia Puranik, Georgia State University
  • CPRI consultant: Kenn Apel, University of South Carolina and Gary Troia, Michigan State University

Team 2

  • Awardees: Nicole Marrone, The University of Arizona and David Lee, University of Miami
  • CPRI Consultant: Gabrielle Saunders, Eriksholm Research Centre
  • Key Personnel: Giau Le,  Alyssa Everett, and  Aileen Wong, The University of Arizona, and Laura McClure, University of Miami

Team 3

  • Awardee: Elizabeth Walker, University of Iowa
  • CPRI Consultant: Lori Leibold, Boys Town National Research Hospital
  • Key Personnel: Lisa Davidson, Washington University in St. Louis, Derek Stiles, Boston Children’s Hospital, Dawna Lewis, Ryan McCreery, and Meredith Spratford, Boys Town National Research Hospital


Team 1

  • Awardee: Maria Grigos, New York University
  • Key Personnel: Edythe Strand, Mayo College of Medicine
  • CPRI Consultant: Julie Wambaugh, University of Utah

Team 2

  • Awardees: Tara McAllister Byun, New York University and Jonathan Preston, Syracuse University
  • CPRI Consultants: Edwin Maas, Temple University and Jim Montgomery, Ohio University


Team 1

  • Cathy Binger, University of New Mexico
  • Jennifer Kent-Walsh, University of Central Florida
  • Howard Goldstein, University of Central Florida
  • Katie Hustad, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Team 2

  • Aaron Ziegler, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Hans Dreyer, University of Oregon
  • Melanie Fried-Oken, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Donna Graville, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Edie Hapner, University of Southern California
  • Jessica Huber, Purdue University


Cara Stepp, Boston University

Steven Barlow (Consultant), University of Nebraska–Lincoln

ASHA Corporate Partners