COVID-19 UPDATES: Find news and resources for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and the public.
Latest Updates | Telepractice Resources | Email Us

Training Programs for Speech-Language Pathology Assistants

The following technical training programs for speech-language pathology assistants are self-identified; this list is not meant to be exhaustive. These programs have not been reviewed or evaluated in any way by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) for technical training of speech-language pathology assistants. Placement on this list does not indicate any endorsement by ASHA.

Arkansas

Harding University
Dr. Melanie Meeker
915 E. Market Avenue, Box 10872
Searcy, AR 72149
Phone: 501-279-4658
Fax: 501-279-4325
Email: csd@harding.edu or mmeeker@harding.edu

Arizona

Arizona State University
Cathy Bacon, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Coordinator
Department of Speech & Hearing Science
P.O. Box 870102
Tempe, AZ 85287-0102
Phone: 480-965-2374
Fax: 480-965-8516
Email: cbacon@asu.edu

Estrella Mountain Community College
Amy Hill, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Director, SLP Assistants Program
3000 North Dysart Road
Avondale, AZ 85392
Phone: 623-935-8853
Email: amy.hill@estrellamountain.edu

Northern Arizona University
Jeff Meeks, EdD, CCC-SLP
Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Program
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Northern Arizona University
208 E. Pine Knoll Drive
P.O. Box 15045
Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Phone: 928-523-2969
Fax: 928-523-0034
Email: Jeffrey.Meeks@nau.edu

California

American River College
Kristina Zajic, MS CCC-SLP, Department Chair, Health & Education
4700 College Oak Drive
Sacramento, CA 95841-4286
Phone: 916-484-8702
Email: ZajicK@arc.losrios.edu

California State University, San Marcos
Rachel Nortz, MA, CCC-SLP
SLP Department c/o SLP-A Program Coordinator
ELB 641-Extended Learning
California State University San Marcos
333 South Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Phone: 760-750-7381
Email: rnortz@csusm.edu

Cerritos College
Susan McDonald, MS, CCC-SLP, Department Chair and Faculty, SLPA Program
11110 Alondra Boulevard
Norwalk, CA 90650
Phone: 562-860-2451, ext. 3517
Fax: 562-467-5077
Email: smcdonald@cerritos.edu

Chapman University
Mary Ellen Hood, MS, CCC-SLP, Adjunct Faculty and Program Manager
Office of Extended Education
One University Drive
Orange, CA 92866
Phone: 714-997-6610
Fax: 714-997-9567
Email: hood@chapman.edu

Orange Coast College
Anne McClanahan, SLPA Program Coordinator
2701 Fairview Road, P.O. Box 5005
Costa Mesa, CA 92628-5005
Phone: 714-432-5883
Email: amcclanahan@occ.cccd.edu

Pasadena City College
Beverley Dunbar, MS, CCC-SLP, SLPA Program Coordinator
1570 East Colorado Boulevard
Pasadena, CA 91106
Phone: 626-585-7591
Email: bdunbar@pasadena.edu

Reedley College
30277 Avenue 12
Madera, CA 93638
Phone: 559-675-4800

San Joaquin Delta College
Susan M. Kidwell, MA CCC-SLP, Director, SLPA Program
5151 Pacific Avenue
Stockton, CA 95207
Phone: 209-954-5572
Fax: 209-464-9798
Email: skidwell@deltacollege.edu

Santa Ana College
Monica S. Zarske, MA CCC-SLP, SLPA Program Director
1530 West 17th Street
Santa Ana, CA 92706
Phone: 714-564-6668
Fax: 714-667-3914
Email: Zarske_Monica@sac.edu

Colorado

Metropolitan State College of Denver
Dr. Marcia Walsh-Aziz, PhD, CCC-SLP, Assistant Professor, Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences
P.O. Box 173362, Campus Box 34
Denver, CO 80217-3362
Phone: 303-615-1988
Email: mwalsh18@msudenver.edu

University of Colorado, Boulder
Susan M. Moore, Clinical Professor Emerita Director, SLPA Certification Program
Lynea Pearson, SLPA Coordinator
2501 Kittredge Loop Road, UCB 409
Boulder, CO 80309-0409
Phone: 303-492-6560
Fax: 303-492-3274
Email: Susan.Moore@colorado.edu, slpa@colorado.edu

University of Northern Colorado
Kim Murza, PhD, CCC-SLP, Associate Professor Speech-Language Pathology
Gunter Hall 1510
Campus Box 140
Greeley, CO 80639
Phone: 970-351-1084
Email: kim.murza@unco.edu

Connecticut

Charter Oak State College Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Online Certificate
Julie Giaccone, MS, CCC-SLP, Program Director
55 Paul Manafort Drive
New Britain, CT 06053
Phone: 860-515-3701
Fax: 860-760-6047
Email: jgiaccone@charteroak.edu

Illinois

College of DuPage
Kathryn Orzechowski MS, CCC-SLP, Instructor, Program Coordinator
425 Fawell Boulevard
Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Phone: 630-942-4331
Fax: 630-858-5409
Email: orzechowskik197@cod.edu

South Suburban College Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Program
Jonathan Love, Coordinator of Speech Language Pathology Assistant Program
15800 South State Street
South Holland, IL 60473-1200
Phone: 708-596-2000, ext. 2204
Email: dfrazier@ssc.edu

Massachusetts

Elms College
Dr. Brittney Carlson, Program Director, Communication Sciences and Disorders
291 Springfield Street
Chicopee, MA 01013
Phone: 413-265-2282
Email: carlsonb@elms.edu

Minnesota

Alexandria Technical and Community College
Nancy Thul MS CCC-SLP, Director, SLPA Program
1601 Jefferson Street
Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone: 320-762-4523
Fax: 320-762-4634
Email: nancyt@alextech.edu

Montana

University of Montana
Ashley Bourque Meaux, PhD, CCC-SLP
SLP Program Director
32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: 406-243-2363
Email: slhos@umontana.edu

New Hampshire

Granite State College
Dr. Nicholas Marks, EdD, Dean of the School of Education, CSD Program Director
Paula Koehler, CCC-SLP, Practicum Coordinator
25 Hall Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-822-5431
Email: Nicolas.Marks@granite.edu

New Mexico

Eastern New Mexico University
Dr. Suzanne Swift, EdD, CCC-SLP, Professor
Department Chair, Graduate Coordinator, SLPA and Graduate Program Director
1500 South Avenue K
Station #3
Portales, NM 88130
Phone:575-562-2724
Email: Suzanne.Swift@enmu.edu

North Carolina

Caldwell Community and Tech Institute
Jessica Raby, MA, CCC-SLP, Director, SLP-Assistant Program
2855 Hickory Boulevard
Hudson, NC 28638
Phone: 828-726-2345
Fax: 828-726-2489
Email: jraby@cccti.edu

Fayetteville Technical Community College
Charisse Gainey, MEd, Department Chair, SLPA Program
P.O. Box 35236, 2201 Hull Road
Fayetteville, NC 28303
Phone: 910-678-8492
Fax: 910-678-8500
Email: gaineyc@faytechcc.edu

North Dakota

Lake Region State College
Andy Wakeford, SLPP Program Coordinator
1801 College Drive North
Devils Lake, ND 58301
Phone: 701-662-1640
Email: andy.wakeford@lrsc.edu

Williston State College
Betty Anderson, Psychology, SLPA, Education
1410 University Avenue
Williston, ND 58801
Phone: 888-863-9455 ext. 4238, 701-774-4238
Email: Betty.Anderson@wsc.nodak.edu

Oklahoma

Oklahoma City Community College
Sarah M. Baker, MS, CCC-SLP, Program Director Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Program
Division of Health Professions
7777 South May Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73159
Phone: 405-682-1611, ext. 7395
Email: sarah.m.baker@occc.edu

Oregon

Chemeketa Community College
Ashley Northam, MS, CCC-SLP, Director, SLPA Program
306 NE Norton Lane, Bldg 2/107
McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone: 503-584-7540
Fax: 503-584-7546
Email: Ashley.northam@chemeketa.edu

South Carolina

Bob Jones University
David Eoute, Jr., Program Coordinator
School of Health Professions
Communication Disorders
1700 Wade Hampton Boulevard
Greenville, SC 29614
Phone: 864-242-5100, ext. 2820
Email: daeoute@bju.edu

Columbia College
AnnMarie C. Knight, PhD, CCC-SLP, Program Coordinator
1301 Columbia College Drive
Columbia, SC 29203
Phone: 803-786-3176
Email: aknight@columbiasc.edu

South Dakota

Mitchell Technical Institute
Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Program
Jennifer Schultz, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Director, Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Program
1800 E. Spruce Street
Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone: 605-995-7245
Fax: 605-995-3083
Email: jennifer.schultz@mitchelltech.edu

Texas

University of Houston
SLPA Certificate Program
Kay James, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Coordinator and Clinical Educator
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
100 Clinical Research Services Center
Houston, TX 77204-6018
Phone: 281-275-3326
Fax: 713-743-2926
Email: kmjames@central.uh.edu

Utah

University of Utah
Tyler Christopulos, PhD, CCC-SLP; SLPA Program Director
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
390 South 1530 East, Suite 1201 BEH SCI
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112
Phone: 801.581.6725
Email: tyler.christopulos@utah.edu

Vermont

University of Vermont
Kathleen Ross, MS, CCC-SLP
SLP Assistants and CSD Master's Prerequisites Program Director
College of Nursing and Health Sciences
322 S. Prospect Street
Burlington, VT 05405
Phone: 802-229-0296 (home office)
Email: Kathleen.Ross@med.uvm.edu

Wyoming

Laramie County Community College
Sue Torney, SLPA Program Director
School of Health Sciences and Wellness
1400 E. College Drive, HS 328
Cheyenne, WY 82007
Phone: 307-778-1281
Email: storney@lccc.wy.edu

ASHA Corporate Partners