Wisconsin Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Note: Changes and additions were made to licensure requirements and processes as part of the 2015 state budget (2015 Act 55). The Wisconsin Department of Instruction is working to understand the changes and create new procedures to implement the legislation. New information will be posted on the DPI website and on the
Teacher Education, Professional Development, and Licensing (TEPDL) blog.
School Audiologist (5-year renewable license)
The state superintendent may issue a school audiologist license to an applicant who meets one of the following requirements:
- Completed at least 50 hours of a supervised practicum providing audiology services in a school setting, or equivalent experience while employed as a school audiologist by a public school, private school, or school district;
- Possesses either a doctor of audiology degree, or, if earned on or before August 31, 2018, a master's degree or higher in audiology from an institution accredited by the education standards board of the American speech-language-hearing association;
- Demonstrates knowledge and understanding of all of the following:
- Pupil Services standards (PI 34.004)
- Educational psychology, including principles and theories of learning.
- Methods and procedures in school audiology programs including the relationship with and content of school pupil services programs. This requirement may be met by prior experience upon the recommendation of the institution.
- Alternative communication systems including signed language systems, their implications for the social, emotional, and educational development of children, and methods for effective communication with children who use them.
- The applicant holds a valid audiologist license issued by the department of safety and professional services.
Wis. Admin. Code PI §34.090
Continuing Education Requirement
One of the following requirements:
- A valid audiologist license issued by the department of safety and professional services; or
- certified as an audiologist by the American Speech Language Hearing Association, American Academy of Audiology, or an affiliated audiology credentialing board.
Emergency Certification/Audiology Permit
A district administrator may request a one-year school audiologist permit, which authorizes the holder to be employed as a school audiologist, may be issued to a person who has a master's degree in audiology from any accredited institution and who seeks a license as a school audiologist but does not meet all the license requirements. A request for this permit must be accompanied by a written explanation detailing the search for a fully qualified individual. A permit under this subsection is valid for a period not to exceed one year, unless an earlier expiration is stated in the permit.
Speech-Language Pathology (PreK–12)
Speech and Language Pathologist Tier I (1-year renewable license with stipulations)
For a tier I license in speech and language pathology, the applicant holds a master's degree and a valid
speech and language pathologist license issued by the department of safety and professional services.
Wis. Admin. Code PI §34.028(2)(e)
The state superintendent may issue a teaching license under speech language and pathology to an applicant who is
licensed by the department of safety and professional services as a speech and language pathologist and meets the requirements under s. PI 34.022.
Wis. Admin. Code PI §34.047(3)(m)
Continuing Education Requirement
Successful completion of a Professional Development Plan.
An emergency permit may be issued to an individual with at least a bachelor's degree in communication disorders at the request of an employing administrator. This permit may be renewed if the individual completes six semester credits toward the completion of an approved program.
For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.