Maine Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Audiologists in the public schools are contract employees and do not fall under specific teacher requirements of the State Department of Education (DOE).
State licensure issued by the Maine Board of Speech, Audiology, and Hearing is typically required for practice in the schools. Contact the board for additional information.
Speech and Hearing Clinician Certificate K–12 (293)
This professional certificate is valid for 5 years with completion of Section A OR Section B, and Sections C, D, E, and F.
- Bachelor's degree
- Master’s degree in speech disorders
- A master's degree equivalent in speech disorders/speech communications:
- Speech coursework (21 semester hours)
- Clinical practicum in speech disorders (3 semester hours)
- Additional graduate courses (6 semester hours)
Criminal history record check approval, based on fingerprints
Teaching exceptional students in the regular classroom (3 semester hours)
PRAXIS II – Teaching Speech to Students with Language Impairments, Test code 0881/5881, Score 152
Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT)
- K–6 PLT, Test Code 0622/5622, score 160; or
- 7–12 PLT, Test Code 0624/5624, score 157; or
- Successful completion of a state-approved teacher education program.
*If you are employed as a speech pathologist, Maine educational certification is not required, but you need to hold valid fingerprinting approval through Maine DOE. Please check with the Maine Licensing Bureau for their requirements for
Conditional Speech and Hearing Clinician Certificate (293)
- Earned a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university
- Completed at least 12 graduate semester hours in speech communications or speech disorders
Six credits (30 hours) is recommended in the certificate area every five years.
Maine Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing
For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.