Massachusetts Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Applicants must meet the January 1, 2007, ASHA Standards and Implementation Procedures for a Certificate of Clinical Competence in Audiology, or the January 1, 2007, requirements for board certification from the American Board of Audiology.
may dispense hearing aids under an audiology license.
Speech Language Pathology
Applicants must submit evidence that they meet the January 1, 2005, ASHA Standards and Implementation Procedures for a Certificate of Clinical Competence in speech-language pathology.
- Physicians and physician-supervised personnel
- Hearing aid dealers
- Teachers of esophageal speech
- Certified industrial audiometric technicians
- Audiometric screening technicians
- Students in assistant training/certificate programs
The Board may issue a license to individuals with a current license in another state that also meet the requirements of Massachusetts in effect at the time of application. Applicant must also report any previous disciplinary actions.
Massachusetts does not license individuals completing their clinical fellowship year.
Licensees must complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education per biennium. Dual licensees must complete a minimum of 30 continuing education hours; a minimum of 10 hours must be in the licensee's area of licensure.
Board of Registration in Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.