Indiana Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- Possess a doctoral degree or equivalent (defined as minimum of 75 semester hours of graduate study including specific course work) from an accredited educational program recognized by the Board
- Certification of completion of 1,820 clock hours of supervised clinical practicum, including a clinical experience that is equivalent to 12 months full-time supervised experience obtained during the doctoral degree program
- Passage of a Professional Examination Service exam
- Passage of an Indiana jurisprudence exam with a score of 75 or higher
In lieu of documentation, applicant may submit evidence of either ASHA CCCs or national certification in audiology that is approved by the Board or satisfaction of the academic and clinical experience requirements necessary for licensure as defined by the rules of the Board.
Note: Audiologists may
dispense hearing aids under an audiology license.
at least a master's degree or its equivalent (two full years of study in a
college with specified coursework) in the area of speech-language
pathology, including 400 clock hours of supervised clinical experience,
from an educational institution recognized by the Board
of a nine-month full-time clinical fellowship or equivalent
of a Professional Examination Service exam
of an Indiana jurisprudence exam with a score of 75 or higher
In lieu of documentation, applicant may submit ASHA CCCs or
evidence of a national certification in speech-language pathology that is
approved by the Board or satisfaction of the academic and clinical
experience requirements necessary for licensure as defined in the rules of the
Note: A renewal license may be issued to an individual who
was licensed by the professional standards board (Department of Education)
before July 1, 2005, and who is not licensed as a speech-language pathologist
- Physicians or surgeons and their assistants
- Hearing aid dealers
- Any person licensed or registered in this state from engaging in the profession or occupation for which the person is licensed or registered
- Federal employees
- Students properly identified as speech-language pathology or audiology interns or trainees who is supervised by a speech-language pathologist or audiologist licensed under this article
- Clinical fellows
- Industrial audiometric testers
- A nonresident who does not possess a state license but who meets the qualifications and requirements for application for licensure may offer services for no more than five days per calendar year in cooperation with a state-licensed individual.
- A nonresident licensed in another state with equivalent standards or a CCC holder or its equivalent may offer services for no more than 30 days per calendar year in cooperation with a state-licensed individual.
Note: Public school employees are no longer exempt from state licensure requirements.
- Licensure may be granted to those applicants who are licensed in another state, District of Columbia, or territory if the standards are considered by the Board to be equivalent to Indiana's at the time the license was issued in the other state or territory.
- Licensure may be granted without exam to those applicants certified as clinically competent by a nationally recognized association for speech-language and hearing.
- Individuals practicing as a speech-language pathologist or audiologists under the authority of the federal government.
- The Board may issue a provisional license in audiology to an individual who meets the requirements that the Board establishes by rule.
- A nonrenewable license may be issued to those speech-language pathologists who are completing a clinical fellowship and who have registered with the Board. The license expires either when the individual is licensed as an SLP or 18 months after the beginning of the clinical fellowship.
Thirty-six clock hours per biennial renewal period are required for renewal. No more than six hours may be acquired through self-study.
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Board
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit this website:
Indiana Practice Act & Rules and Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.