ASHA's State Advocates for Medicare Policy (StAMP) Network

SMAC is undergoing a name change to StAMP (State Advocates for Medicare Policy Network)

Problem: Medicare doesn't notify us until after they change a local policy

Solution: ASHA Members in Action! Learn how the State Advocates for Medicare Policy (StAMP) Network can help you!

What is the StAMP Network? State-Advocacy-Networks-StAMPs

The mission of the State Advocates for Medicare Policy (StAMP) Network is to enhance and perpetuate the advocacy, leadership, and communication of ASHA members at the state level to influence administrative and public policy decisions that impact Medicare coverage and reimbursement of audiology and speech-language pathology services.

What do StAMP Network participants do?

StAMP Network participants are appointed by ASHA recognized state speech-language-hearing associations. They advocate for Medicare coverage and reimbursement of audiology and speech-language pathology services in the states.

The StAMP representative is responsible for establishing or enhancing effective links to medical directors, consultants, and key personnel with

  • Medicare administrative contractors (MACs),
  • Medicare regional office officials,
  • state health agencies (certify Medicare facilities)
  • consumer groups,
  • and other related professionals.

How can the StAMP Network help me?

StAMP representatives serve as a resource to fellow audiologists and speech-language pathologists regarding compliance with local and national Medicare coverage and payment policies. Getting in touch with them is easy! Just find your state's representative(s) below and send them an e-mail with your questions or concerns. If your state does not have a representative, e-mail reimbursement@asha.org instead.

How can I get involved?

For more information on becoming a representative to the StAMP Network, contact reimbursement@asha.org.

Additional Resources

State Advocates for Medicare Policy (StAMP) Network Roster

Alabama
No representative

Alaska
Kelly Brewer (SLP)
wired2talk@yahoo.com

Arizona
Lisa Naylor (SLP)
lisaannnaylor@gmail.com

Arkansas
Monica Scott (SLP)
monica1SLP@hotmail.com

California
Kathleen Catterall (SLP)
Kathleen.Catterall@sharp.com

Colorado
Deborah Huzzard (SLP)
djakek3@aol.com

Darcy Borella
cshadarcy@gmail.com

Connecticut
Katrina Woodward (SLP)
katrinawoodward@live.com

Delaware
No representative

District of Columbia
No representative

Florida
Danielle Eichmann (SLP)
ddocobo@gmail.com

Georgia
Edgar V. Clark (SLP)
edgarvclark@gmail.com

Mavis D. Ivy (SLP)
mivy@brookdale.com

Hawaii
Kathleen Campbell (AUD)
katcam@hawaii.rr.com

Amy Lower (SLP)
alowe@hawaii.edu

Idaho
Maren Hollister (SLP)
mhollister@elksrehab.org

Illinois
Jordan Bowman (SLP)
jordanjanebowman838@gmail.com

Indiana
Jennifer Freeman (SLP)
jennfreeman@bluemarble.net

Iowa
Kelli Zeimetz-Mehmert (SLP)
kellizm@msn.com  

Kansas
Lynn Marphy (SLP)
lynn.murphy@ku.edu

Kentucky
Renee Kinder (SLP)
Renee.Kinder@encorerehabilitation.com

Louisiana
Amy Phipps (SLP)
aphipps@reliant-rehab.com  

Maine
No representative

Maryland
Mary Casper (SLP)
mcasper@hcr-manorcare.com

Massachusetts
Barbara Wilson Arboleda (SLP)
Barbara_Wilson@meei.harvard.edu

Michigan
Karen Kurcz (SLP)
kkurcz@med.umich.edu

Minnesota
Rebecca (Becky) Lulai (SLP)
lude0008@umn.edu

Mississippi
Yolanda Currie-Pope (SLP)
smac@mshausa.org

Angie Brunson (SLP)
angiebrunson@gmail.com

Missouri
Shatonda Jones (SLP)
Shatonda.Jones@rockhurst.edu (SLP)

Montana
Carol Morse (SLP)
mumsey05@bresnan.net

Nebraska
Jessica Thoene (SLP)
jessica@alpharehab.com 

Anne Anderson (SLP)
anne.anderson@aegistherapies.com 

Nevada
Megan Swank (AUD)
mswank@medicine.nevada.edu

Rachael Walden (SLP)
rmwalden@gmail.com

New Hampshire
No representative

New Jersey
Barbara Schwerin Bohus (SLP)
BSchwerinBohus@hackensackumc.org

New Mexico
Celestina Martinez (SLP)
celemz1303@yahoo.com

New York
Salvatore Gruttadauria (AUD/SLP)  
salg@rehabwny.com

North Carolina
Susan Chapman (SLP)
susan.chapman@genesishcc.com

North Dakota
No representative

Ohio
Carol Hofbauer (SLP)
chofbauer@laurelhealth.com

Oklahoma
Teresa Bierig (SLP)
tabierig@yahoo.com

Oregon
Melissa Fryer
melfryer@gmail.com (SLP)

Pennsylvania
Joanne Wisely (SLP)
Joanne.Wisely@GenesisHCC.com

Rhode Island
Amy Porter-Wareham (SLP)
portamy@aol.com

South Carolina
Amber Heape (SLP)
aheape1979@yahoo.com

South Dakota
Laura Barbera (SLP)
speechgirl@rushmore.com

Tennessee
Janet Avery (SLP)
jbanhcrehab@comcast.net

Texas  
Lisa Milliken (SLP)
lmilliken@selectrehab.com

Mendi Lancaster (SLP)
MeLancaster@bir-rehab.com

Utah
No representative

Vermont
Lakshmi Boyle (SLP)
Lakshmi.Boyle@vtmednet.org

Virginia
Sally Jones-McNamara (SLP)
sallyjmac@aol.com

Washington
Mary L. Hindal (SLP)
mhindal@consonushealth.com

West Virginia
No representative

Wisconsin
Annette M Stone (SLP)
a nnette.stone@wisc.edu 

Wyoming
No representative

The contact information was current at the time it was submitted to ASHA by the network representative.

ASHA Corporate Partners