American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

ASHA's State Advocates for Reimbursement (STARs)

A State-Based Reimbursement Network

State Advocacy Networks - starsThe State Advocates for Reimbursement (STARs) are ASHA-member audiologists and speech-language pathologists who advocate in their states for improved health care coverage and reasonable reimbursement. Their targets are key decision-makers in private corporations, public agencies, and the local legislature. Examples are health care insurance executives, benefits administrators, state insurance department officials, and state congress members. STARs create advocacy strategies and share skills with the state speech-language-hearing associations that appoint them.

STARs form a true network. They link states together and to ASHA through monthly conference calls, a STARs-only e-mail discussion group, and periodic meetings. STARs are individuals who:

  • are proactive;
  • will eagerly assist colleagues and others with advice and information;
  • can help seek solutions when members face challenges to their economic viability; and
  • must count on their colleagues (you) to help them effectuate positive changes in private health insurance and Medicaid.

Look for your state's STAR in the roster, below. Communicate reimbursement questions or concerns to your STARs!

Don't see a name for your state? Step up to the plate and get involved! How can you become a STAR? Contact your state association president to volunteer and your nearest STAR for details.

E-mail questions to reimbursement@asha.org.


STAR Network Roster

Alabama
Judy Mann (SLP)
judy.mann@chsys.org

Alaska
Nancy Lovering (SLP)
nlovering@gci.net

Arizona
Amy Heck (SLP)
amy@teamed.net

Arkansas
Cheri Stevenson (SLP)
cheri@accessschools.org

California
Shellie Bader (SLP)
sbader@speechassociates.com

Colorado
Ann Pendley (SLP)
pendley@frii.com

Kim Lich (SLP)
kim.lich@tchden.org

Connecticut
Meghan Krodel (SLP)
megkrodel@gmail.com

Delaware
Kati Capitan-Anderson (SLP)
centraldelawareslp@gmail.com   

District of Columbia
No representative

Florida
Vivian Topp (SLP)
ambilingual@bellsouth.net

Georgia
Margaret Ann Parker (SLP)
margaretaparker@bellsouth.net

Hawaii
Dorothy Craven (SLP)
tookie@pixi.com

Idaho
Tammy Emerson (SLP)
ilvtalk@cableone.net

Illinois
Kim Pritikin (SLP)
kpritikin@therapycare.com

Indiana
Susan Rockafellow (SLP)
srockafellow@hancockregional.org

Iowa
Brandon Viet (SLP)
brandon-viet@uiowa.edu

Kansas
Gentry White (SLP)
gwhite@pixius.net

Kentucky
Renea Sageser
renea.sageser@gmail.com

Louisiana
Shelley Chesney (SLP)
shelley.chesney@gmail.com

Maine
Melanie Lajoie (SLP)
speechmattersinc@aol.com

Marisa Small (SLP)
mkaras@wchi.com

Maryland
Gloria Petit-Claire (SLP)
gloria.petitclair@gmail.com

Massachusetts
Sharon Frank (SLP)
sfrank@vocalcare.com

Edith Trafford (SLP)
lancith@aol.com

Michigan
Tim Weise (SLP)
tweise@gchosp.org

Minnesota
Sarah Hanson (SLP)
sarahchanson@hotmail.com

Mississippi
Leslie Hammond (SLP)
therapyzone@aol.com

Jeffalyn Trammell (SLP)
spechlpath@aol.com

Missouri
Anna Campbell (SLP)
alcampbell@ucmo.edu

Montana
Carol Morse (SLP)
mumsey05@bresnan.net

Nebraska
Kristy Weissling (SLP)
Kweissling2@unl.edu

Nevada
Joyce Marston (SLP)
Marstonwellsaid@gmail.com

New Hampshire
No representative

New Jersey
Robert W. Woods (AUD)
Rwwwoodssha@cs.com

Barbara Schwerin-Bohus (SLP)
bschwerinbohus@hackensackumc.org

New Mexico
Michael Kaplan (SLP)
stachemannm@aol.com

New York
Barbara Leader (SLP)
BLJL1@aol.com

North Carolina
Vanessa Raynor (SLP)
vraynor2004@yahoo.com

North Dakota
Kitsy Radermacher (SLP)
kitsyr@aol.com

Ohio
Patricia Fisher (SLP)
pfishn16@gmail.com

Oklahoma
Teresa Bierig (SLP)
tabierig@yahoo.com

Oregon
Nicole Collings (SLP)
nicole.collings@salemhealth.org

Kathy de Domingo (SLP)
Kathy@progrehab.com

Pennsylvania
Linda Torres (SLP)
linda.torres@chp.edu

Anne Gilbertson (SLP)
amgilberts@aol.com

Rhode Island
No representative

South Carolina
Andrea Lary (SLP/A)
therapyc@atmc.net

South Dakota
Laura Barbera (SLP)
speechgirl@rushmore.com

Tennessee
Lynne Harmon (SLP)
lynneellen@aol.com

Terri Philpot (SLP)
terrilynnslp@aol.com

Texas
Shannon Butkus (SLP)
Shannon.butkus@butkusandassociates.com

Utah
Nicole Hickmon (SLP)
nicolehickmon@yahoo.com

Mindalyn Enlow (SLP)
Mindalyn.Enlow@imail.org

Vermont
Linda Hazard (AUD)
Linda.Hazard@vtmednet.org

Virginia
No representative

Washington
Jennifer Sherley (SLP)
jsherley@hotmail.com

West Virginia
Pat Ford (SLP)
therapyllc@aol.com, wassonford@aol.com

Wisconsin
Sally A. Conway (SLP)
sallyslp_2@hotmail.com

Wyoming
Heidi Ferriman (SLP)
heidi_blackfaerie@yahoo.com

The contact information was current at the time it was submitted to ASHA by the network representative.

Share This Page

Print This Page