American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Technical Training Programs for Speech-Language Pathology Assistants

The following technical training programs for speech-language pathology assistants are self-identified; this list is not meant to be exhaustive. These programs have not been reviewed or evaluated in any way by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) for technical training of speech-language pathology assistants. Placement on this list does not indicate any endorsement by ASHA.

Arizona

Arizona State University
Cathy Bacon, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Coordinator
Department of Speech & Hearing Science
P.O. Box 870102
Tempe, AZ 85287-0102
Phone: 480-965-2374
Fax: 480-965-8516
E-mail: cbacon@asu.edu

Estrella Mountain Community College
Amy Heck, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Director, SLP Assistants Program
3000 North Dysart Road
Avondale, AZ 85392
Phone: 623-935-8000
E-mail: amy.heck@emcmail.maricopa.edu, Amy.heck@estrellamountain.edu

Northern Arizona University
Stephanie Christensen, Program Coordinator
P.O. Box 15095, Building 66, Room 231
Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Phone: 928-523-7419
Fax: 928-523-0148
E-mail: Speech.Assistant@nau.edu

California

Cerritos College
Ellen Horvath, Program Coordinator
11110 Alondra Boulevard
Norwalk, CA 90650
Phone: 562-860-2451, ext. 2350
Fax: 562-467-5077
E-mail: horvath@Cerritos.edu

Chapman University
Mary Ellen Hood, MS, CCC-SLP, Adjunct Faculty and Program Manager
Office of Extended Education
One University Drive
Orange, CA 92866
Phone: 714-997-6610
Fax: 714-997-9567
E-mail: hood@chapman.edu

Orange Coast College
Anne McClanahan, SLPA Program Coordinator
2701 Fairview Road, P.O. Box 5005
Costa Mesa, CA 92628-5005
Phone: 714-432-5883
E-mail: amcclanahan@occ.cccd.edu

Pasadena City College
Rosemary Scott, MA, CCC, SLPA Coordinator, Performing and Communication Arts Division
1570 East Colorado Boulevard, C-121
Pasadena, CA 91106-2003
Phone: 626-585-7021
Fax : 626-585-7399
E-mail: rxscott@pasadena.edu

San Joaquin Delta College
Susan M. Kidwell, Director, SLPA Program
5151 Pacific Avenue
Stockton, CA 95207
Phone: 209-954-5572
Fax: 209-464-9798
E-mail: skidwell@deltacollege.edu

Santa Ana College
Monica Porter, SLPA Coordinator
1530 West 17th Street
Santa Ana, CA 92706
Phone: 714-564-6668
Fax: 714-667-3914
E-mail: Porter.monica@sac.edu

Colorado

University of Colorado, Boulder
Susan M. Moore, SLPA Director
Lynea Pearson, SLPA Coordinator
2501 Kittredge Loop Road, UCB 409
Boulder, CO 80309-0409
Phone: 303-492-5284 or 303-492-3038
Fax: 303-492-3274
E-mail: Susan.Moore@colorado.edu, Lynea.Pearson@colorado.edu

University of Northern Colorado
Kathy Fahey, Professor, Communication Disorders, Audiology & Speech-Language Sciences
1400 Gunter Hall
Greeley, CO 80634
Phone: 970-351-1587
E-mail: Kathy.Fahey@unco.edu

Metropolitan State College of Denver
Catherine Curran, Professor, Communication Arts and Sciences
Campus Box 34, P.O. Box 173362
Denver, CO 80217-3362
Phone: 303-556-3407
E-mail: curranc@mscd.edu

Illinois

College of DuPage
Faye Campagna, MA, CCC-SLP, Instructor and Coordinator
425 Fawell Boulevard
Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Phone: 630-942-4331
Fax: 630-858-5409
E-mail: campagnaf@cod.edu

Maine

Kennebec Valley Community College (KVCC)
Dr. Martha B. Naber, Education Coordinator
92 Western Avenue
Fairfield, ME 04937
Phone: 207-453-5198
Fax: 207-453-5197
E-mail: mnaber@kvcc.me.edu

Massachusetts

Elms College
Dr. Kathryn James, Chair, Communication Sciences and Disorders Division
291 Springfield Street
Chicopee, MA 01013
Phone: 413-265-2282
E-mail: jamesk@elms.edu

Minnesota

Alexandria Technical and Community College
Nancy Thul MS CCC-SLP, Director, SLPA Program
1601 Jefferson Street
Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone: 320-762-4523
Fax: 320-762-4634
E-mail: nancyt@alextech.edu

New Hampshire

Nashua Community College
Victoria Chesterley, MS, CCC-SLP, Director, SLP Assistant Program
505 Amherst Street
Nashua, NH 03063
Phone: 603-882-6923 x1550
E-mail: vchesterley@ccsnh.edu

North Carolina

Caldwell Community and Tech Institute
Linda Wortman Lowe, CCC-SLP, SLPA Program Director
2855 Hickory Boulevard
Hudson, NC 28638
Phone: 828-726-2457
Fax: 828-726-2489
E-mail: lwlowe@cccti.edu

Fayetteville Technical Community College
Charisse Gainey, M Ed, Department Chair, SLPA Program
P.O. Box 35236, 2201 Hull Road
Fayetteville, NC 28303
Phone: 910-678-8492
Fax : 910-678-8500
E-mail: gaineyc@faytechcc.edu

North Dakota

Lake Region State College
Andy Wakeford, SLPA Program
1801 College Drive North
Devils Lake, ND 58301
Phone: 1-800-443-1313 ext. 1640, 701-662-1640
E-mail: andy.wakeford@lrsc.edu

Williston State College
Betty Anderson, Psychology, SLPA, Education
1410 University Avenue
Williston, ND 58801
Phone: 888-863-9455 ext. 4238, 701-774-4238
E-mail: Betty.Anderson@wsc.nodak.edu

Oklahoma

Oklahoma City Community College
Kathy J. Wheat, PhD, CCC-SLP, SLPA Program Director/Professor
Division of Health Professions
7777 S. May Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73159
Phone: 405-682-1611, ext. 7395
E-mail: kathy.j.wheat@occc.edu

Oregon

Chemeketa Community College
Ashley Northam, MS, CCC-SLP, Director, SLPA Program
Building 1/ 259, 4000 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97309
Phone: 503-589-4754
Fax: 503-589-7897
E-mail: anortham@chemeketa.edu, Ashley.northam@chemeketa.edu

South Dakota

Mitchell Technical Institute
Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Program
Deb Flynn, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Director
1800 E. Spruce Street
Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone: 605-995-7184
Fax: 605-995-3083
E-mail: deb.flynn@mitchelltech.edu

Texas

University of Houston
SLPA Certificate Program
Kay James, MA, CCC-SLP, Program Coordinator and Clinical Educator
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
100 Clinical Research Services Center
Houston, TX 77204-6018
Phone: 281-275-3326
Fax: 713-743-2926 
E-mail: kmjames@central.uh.edu

Vermont

University of Vermont
Patricia Prelock, Dean
College of Nursing and Health Sciences
105 Rowell Building, 106 Carrigan Drive, University of Vermont
Kathleen Ross, SLP Assistants Program Coordinator
322 S. Prospect Street
Burlington, VT 05405
Phone: 802-656-3861, 802-656-2085
Fax: 802-656-0306
E-mail: Patricia.Prelock@uvm.edu, Kathleen.Ross@uvm.edu

Share This Page

Print This Page