Virginia Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- Holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in the area in which they seek licensure issued by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, certification issued by the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. Verification of currency shall be in the form of a certified letter from a recognized accrediting body issued within six months prior to licensure; and
Has passed the qualifying
examination from an accrediting body recognized by the board
The board may grant a license to an applicant as a school speech-language pathologist who holds a master's degree in speech-language-pathology.
- Federal, state, county, municipal or educational institution employees as a speech or hearing specialist or therapist
- Unlicensed persons employed by a licensed audiologist or speech-language pathologist to assist him/her in practice
- Licensed persons performing within their scope of practice
An applicant who has been licensed in another jurisdiction
in the United States may apply for licensure in Virginia by submission of documentation
continuing education hours for each year in which he has been licensed in
the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 30 hours, or a current and
unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in the area in which he
seeks licensure issued by ASHA or certification issued by the American
Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board;
of the qualifying examination from an accrediting body recognized by the board;
status of licensure in another United States jurisdiction showing that no
disciplinary action is pending or unresolved; and
of active practice in another United States jurisdiction for at least one of
the past three years or practice for six months with a provisional license and by
providing evidence of a recommendation for licensure by their supervisor.
The Board may issue a provisional license to an applicant for licensure who:
- Passed the qualifying examination from an accrediting body recognized by the board; and
i. For provisional licensure in audiology, successfully completed all the didactic coursework required for the doctoral degree as documented by a college or university whose audiology program is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of ASHA or an equivalent accrediting body; or
ii. For provisional licensure in speech-language pathology, successfully completed all the didactic coursework required for a graduate program in speech-language pathology as documented by a college or university whose program is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or an equivalent accrediting body.
A licensee shall complete at least 10 contact hours of continuing education
prior to December 31 of each year. Up to 10 contact hours of continuing
education in excess of the number required for renewal may be transferred or
credited to the next renewal year.
A dual licensee shall complete 15 hours annually of continuing education for
renewal of both licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact hours in each
Virginia does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.
Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech Pathology
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit this website:
Virginia Practice Act & Rules and Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.