Pennsylvania Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- Master's degree or equivalent from an accredited academic institution
Note: For this section, "equivalent" is defined as holding a bachelor's degree and completion of a program of study comprising 39 graduate semester hours with specific distribution requirements; graduate semester hours in practicum may not be counted toward satisfying the 39 semester-hour requirement.
- Three hundred seventy-five hour clinical practicum
- Completion of 1 year of supervised professional experience (1,080 hours in 2 consecutive years)
- Passage of an examination
- Physicians and surgeons
- Trained employees under direction of a physician doing hearing testing
- Hearing aid fitters
- Department of Education credentialed employees of public, private or chartered schools
- Students or trainees appropriately designated as such
- Federal employees
- Any licensed person engaged in the profession for which they are licensed
- Non-residents who are licensed in another state with equivalent standards may provide services for no more than 5 days in any calendar year in cooperation with a state-licensed practitioner.
- Organizations engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology, audiology or teaching the hearing impaired as long as it employs such licensed individuals to provide the direct practice,however, such organizations or corporations must file a certification with the Board that it submits itself to the rules and regulations of the Board.
The Board may waive the education and examination requirements for:
- Applicants licensed in another state with equivalent standards
- Certificate of Clinical Competence holders
- Individuals with a bachelor's degree in speech language pathology, audiology or teaching the hearing impaired, who has been employed in this area for at least 9 months within 3 years prior to date of statute enactment (1982–1985).
Although a clinical fellowship is required for state licensure, Pennsylvania does not license individuals completing their clinical fellowship year.
Twenty clock hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period.
Pennsylvania does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.
Department of State, Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs, State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language and Hearing
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.