American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

New York Licensing Requirements for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology

  1. Master's degree or higher or equivalent as determined by the New York State Education Department
  2. A Doctoral applicant must compete 1,820 hours of supervised clinical experience under supervision.
  3. A Master's applicant must complete 400 hours of supervised practicum and 36 weeks of supervised experience. 
  4. Passage of an exam determined by the Department to be acceptable

Speech-Language Pathology

  1. Master's degree or higher or equivalent as determined by the New York State Education Department
  2. Supervised practicum of 400 clock hours
  3. Thirty-six weeks of supervised experience
  4. Passage of an exam determined by the Department to be acceptable

Exemptions

  1. Any other licensed professionals operating within their scope of practice
  2. Any person employed by the federal, state, or a local government or by a public or non-public elementary or secondary school or an institution of higher learning from performing the duties of a speech-language pathologist, an audiologist, a teacher of the speech and hearing handicapped, or a teacher of the deaf in the course of such employment.
  3. Any person from engaging in clinical or academic practice under the supervision of a licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist for such period of time as may be necessary to complete an experience requirement for a professional license
  4. Students in supervised clinical practice
  5. Hearing aid dealers using audiometers or other testing equipment
  6. A person licensed in another state if services are performed for no more than 30 days per calendar year and are provided under the supervision of or in conjunction with a New York licensee

Reciprocity

An applicant seeking endorsement in speech-language pathology or audiology from another state shall have completed a program in speech-language pathology or audiology that included a practicum and a minimum of 60 semester hours in the profession or the equivalent; provide evidence of two years of professional experience following licensure in another jurisdiction and within six years preceding this application; have met the exam requirements; hold certification for an acceptable certifying agency such as ASHA and present evidence of good standing as a licensee in each jurisdiction where the applicant is licensed. 

Interim Practice

Although a clinical fellowship is required for state licensure, New York does not license individuals completing their clinical fellowship year.

Continuing Education

  1. An applicant must complete a minimum of 30 continuing competence hours per triennial renewal period; those failing to meet these requirements may be issued a conditional registration, duration of which shall not exceed 1 year.
  2. Dual licensees shall complete continuing competency requirements for each registration except that 10 hours earned in a related subject may be credited to both registrations.
  3. Licensed audiologists who are registered by the Department of State to dispense hearing aids must in their 30-hour triennial period include two continuing competency hours for each full year of registration on the selecting and/or fitting of hearing aids.

Telepractice

New York does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Board for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Resource

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page