American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

New Mexico Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology

  1. Holds a master's degree in audiology or communication disorders or an equivalent degree awarded prior to January 1, 2007, or a doctoral degree in audiology or equivalent degree regardless of degree name 
  2. A certified copy of CCC or proof of completion of the clinical fellowship year or equivalent
  3. Passage of national exam
  4. Passage of a jurisprudence exam
  5. If previously licensed by another state, verification of licensure must be sent directly to the Board by the issuing jurisdiction.

Speech-Language Pathology

  1. Holds a master's degree in speech-language pathology, speech-language and hearing science, communication disorders or equivalent degree regardless of degree name
  2. A certified copy of CCC or proof of completion of the clinical fellowship year or equivalent
  3. Passage of a national exam
  4. Passage of a jurisprudence exam
  5. If previously licensed by another state, verification of licensure must be sent directly to the Board by the issuing jurisdiction.

Exemptions

  1. Licensed physicians
  2. Dentists/orthodontists
  3. Certified teachers of the deaf
  4. Students
  5. Other licensed professionals acting within their scope of practice

Reciprocity

All applicants must apply as new applicants.

Interim Practice

Clinical fellows must obtain a license; prior to or during the first 12 months an individual has his/her Clinical Fellow license, individual must take and pass a nationally recognized exam.

Continuing Education

Licensees must complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years.

Telepractice

New Mexico does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology, and Hearing Aid Dispensing Practices Board

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page