American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Minority Student Leadership Program (MSLP) Award

The MSLP is a leadership development program established for undergraduate seniors, master's students, AuD students who are enrolled in communication sciences and disorders programs, and PhD students who are pursuing a research doctoral degree. The purpose of the MSLP is

  • To recruit and retain racial/ethnic minorities that have been historically under-represented in the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology
  • To provide focused educational programming and activities to build and enhance leadership skills
  • To provide an understanding of how the association works
  • To provide an opportunity for program participants to interact with leaders in the professions of audiology, speech-language pathology, and speech, language, and hearing sciences

Access the 2014 MSLP application. Apply early—the program deadline is May 5, 2014. Check out the frequently asked questions to learn more. Still have questions? E-mail, or contact Melanie Johnson at or 301-296-8681.

2013 MSLP Class

Undergrad Senior
  • Alexis Page, University of Nebraska Omaha
  • Anna Brenson, Texas State University
  • Chelsea Addison, The College of Wooster
  • Kimberly Mamaril, Towson University
  • Leila Luna, Portland State University
  • Milon Volk, University of Pittsburgh
  • Natalia Nieblas Soto, University of Arizona
  • Quynh Do, University of New Mexico
First Year Masters
  • Amy Tran, Midwestern University
  • Dominique Volney, Lehman College, CUNY
  • Erica Roberson, Howard University
  • Jenaye Garver, Miami University of Ohio
  • Kelly Ann Pena, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Sara Spears, Idaho State University
  • Taylor Marlow, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Second Year Masters
  • Alexandra Mateu, Indiana University–Bloomington
  • Ashley Chavez, University of Washington
  • Brittani Hightower, Howard University
  • David Salinas, Western Carolina University
  • Joseph Vera, Louisiana State University–Baton Rouge
  • Lauren Prather, Tennessee State University
  • Leigh Brown, MGH Institute of Health Professions
  • Marilouise Jones, Purdue University
  • Marilynn Pathiyil, Saint Louis University
  • Miranda Aragon, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Olivia Tam, Hunter College
  • Danielle Scott, Indiana University
  • Samara Nichols, Vanderbilt University
  • Tracey Calvo Clarke, Howard University
Third Year Masters
  • Krupa Thakar, Nova Southeastern University
  • Lupe Buten, Long Island University Brooklyn
  • Efoe Nyatepe-Coo, Northwestern University
  • Helena Seol, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Karla Quinones, Northwestern University
  • Miranda D'Souza, University of North Texas
  • Binna Lee, New York University
  • Linda Kim, University of Pittsburgh
  • Taeok Park, Ohio University
  • Eunsun Park, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • Yu Zhang, Ohio University

View previous MSLP recipients.

Share This Page

Print This Page