More About ICD-9-CM


The International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) is based on the World Health Organization's Ninth Revision, International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9). The ICD-9-CM is the official system of assigning codes to diagnoses and procedures associated with hospital utilization in the United States. The ICD-9 is used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates.

The ICD-9-CM consists of:

  • a tabular list containing a numerical list of the disease code numbers in tabular form (Volume 1);
  • an alphabetical index to disease entries (Volume 2), and
  • a classification system for surgical, diagnostic, and therapeutic procedures (alphabetic index and tabular list).

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) are the U.S. governmental agencies responsible for overseeing all changes and modifications to the ICD-9-CM.


The intent of ICD-9-CM is to standardize disease and procedure classification throughout the United State, and to gather data about basic health statistics.


HIPAA legislation requires the ICD-9-CM to be used for health services billing and record keeping.

Relation to Professional Scope of Practice

The speech-language pathologist and audiologist practicing in a medical setting, especially in a hospital, may have to code delivery of services according to the ICD-9-CM.

Official ICD-9-CM Web sites:

ASHA Corporate Partners