American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
April 15, 2011

Hearing Aid Tax Credit Legislation Introduced in House

Representatives Tom Latham (R-IA) and Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY) have introduced H.R. 1479, which would provide for a tax credit of $500 per hearing aid every five years for children up to the age of 21 and individuals 55 and older. The legislation places a cap on the tax credit eligibility to families with a household income of up to $200,000. The Senate is expected to introduce its hearing aid tax credit legislation later this spring.

In addition to Tom Latham and Carolyn McCarthy, the following members of Congress signed on as original co-sponsors: Chris Van Hollen, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Joe Courtney, Ron Paul, Dave Loebsack, Mike Honda, James Sensenbrenner, Stephen Lynch, Michelle Bachmann, Dean Heller, Dan Burton, Dale Kildee, Steve Israel, Maurice Hinchey, Linda Sanchez, Rush Holt, Michael Capuano, Jim McGovern, Gene Green, Raúl M. Grijalva, Barney Frank, Jesse Jackson, Tammy Baldwin, Martin Heinrich, John Yarmuth, Devin Nunes, Peter Roskam, Spencer Bachus, Shelley Berkley, Jim Gerlach, Pete Olson, John Kline, Alyson Schwartz, and Todd Platts.

Please contact your representative and request that they co-sponsor this legislation or thank them for signing on to the bill as an original co-sponsor. For additional information, contact Ingrida Lusis, ASHA's director of federal and political advocacy, at

Share This Page

Print This Page