American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
April 27, 2010

Now Is Your Chance to Provide Input on the Annual Public Policy Agenda

The Government Relations and Public Policy Board is requesting member input in developing the Association's 2011 public policy agenda. If you've never taken the opportunity to comment before, now is your chance!

What is the public policy agenda?

The public policy agenda is developed on an annual basis to help focus the Association's advocacy efforts for the year. In previous years, this agenda has been instrumental in focusing advocacy efforts, which have led to a number of victories and advancements in federal and state legislative and regulatory arenas.

How is the public policy agenda developed?

The public policy agenda is developed by ASHA's Government Relations and Public Policy Board (GRPPB) with members' input in setting advocacy priorities. Once the GRPPB finalizes the agenda, it's sent to the Board of Directors for their approval. Every year, we strive to have the next year's public policy agenda approved and ready to share with members at the annual convention in November.

Why should ASHA members provide input?

Sharing what's important to you helps the GRPPB determine what's impacting members and allows ASHA to more effectively advocate with members of Congress, the administration, and state governments on your behalf.

Providing input is as simple as ranking the current priorities based on what's important to you and what's not. You can also provide your own suggestions for future advocacy priorities. The public policy agenda survey is available online. The deadline is June 30, 2010.

For your reference, the 2010 ASHA Public Policy Agenda is posted on the ASHA Web site. If you have questions or need further information, feel free to contact Linda Jacobs-Condit at, Lemmietta McNeilly at, or Thomas Hallahan at

The 2010 GRPP Board includes: Linda Jacobs-Condit, chair; members Ellen Estomin, Wayne Foster, Diane Golden, Charlette Green, Mary Hooper, Joan Mele-McCarthy, Ryan McCreery, and Sharon Ringwalt; Timothy O’Neill, public member; Thomas Hallahan, vice president for government relations and public policy; and Lemmietta McNeilly, ASHA chief staff officer for speech-language pathology.

Share This Page

Print This Page