American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Utah Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology (as of July 1, 2010)

  1. Clinical doctors degree or AuD in audiology from an accredited university or collage
  2. Completion of one year of professional experience
  3. Passage of a nationally standardized exam; the board may require a practical demonstration of clinical skills
  4. Verification of training and experience in treating and managing the major communication disabilities identified in speech-language pathology or audiology
  5. Be in compliance with the regulations of conduct and the code of ethics

Speech Language Pathology

  1. Masters in speech-language pathology from an accredited educational institution
  2. One year of supervised professional experience (30 hours/week for an academic year)
  3. Passage of a nationally standardized examination; board may require a practical demonstration of clinical skills
  4. Verification of training and experience in treating and managing the major communication disabilities identified in speech-language pathology or audiology
  5. In compliance with regulations of conduct and codes of ethics for the profession of speech-language pathology or audiology

Exemptions

  1. Physicians, surgeons
  2. Utah Office of Education credentialed employees
  3. Federal, state and local government employees
  4. Students appropriately titled to indicate training status
  5. Persons trained in elementary audiometry and qualified to perform basic audiometric tests while employed by a licensed medical doctor and under his direct supervision
  6. Clinical fellows
  7. Teachers of persons who are deaf
  8. Hearing aid dealers or salesmen
  9. Teachers employed by accredited colleges or universities
  10. Nonresidents may offer services for no more than 30 days per calendar year if in cooperation with a licensed practitioner and the individual is eligible for licensure in the state

Reciprocity

Utah does not recognize reciprocity for licensure.

Interim Practice

Temporary license may be issued to an applicant that has:

  1. Obtained a masters degree or doctorate degree in audiology prior to July 1, 2010, or a clinical doctorate degree in audiology or AuD, after June 30, 2010; and is practicing audiology in a year of clinical externship; the temporary license is valid for up to 12 months.
  2. For speech-language pathology has: completed all requirements for licensure as a speech-language pathologist and is practicing speech-language pathology in a year of clinical fellowship; the temporary license is valid for up to 12 months.

Continuing Education

Twenty hours of continuing professional education is required per 2-year period.

Telepractice

Utah does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Speech Language Pathologist and Audiologist Licensing Board

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page