Nebraska Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be at least 21 years of age
- be of good moral character
- have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school
- be free of contagious or infectious disease
- have passed a written and practical examination
An applicant for a license to practice as a hearing aid instrument dispenser and fitter on the basis of a license in another jurisdiction must:
- provide documentation that the standards regulating the practice of hearing aid instrument dispensing and fitting in the other jurisdiction are equivalent to those maintained in Nebraska;
- provide documentation that his/her license was based on a written examination equivalent to the Nebraska examination, the grades given at the examination, and the date the license was issued;
- provide documentation that s/he is free of contagious or infectious disease; and
- have attained 21 years of age.
The Department of Health and Human Services, with the recommendation of the Board of Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers and Fitters, shall issue a temporary license to any person who has met the requirements for licensure as a hearing instrument specialist except for passage of the examination. The temporary license shall be issued for a period of one year. A person holding a valid license as a hearing instrument specialist shall be responsible for the supervision and training of such applicant and shall maintain adequate personal contact with him or her. If a person who holds a temporary license has not successfully passed the licensing examination within 12 months of the date of issuance of the temporary license, the temporary license may be renewed or reissued for a 12 month period. In no case may a temporary license be renewed or reissued more than once. A renewal or reissuance may take place any time after the expiration of the first 12 month period.
A licensee must complete 24 hours of approved continuing education during the preceding 24 month period.
Audiologists who dispense hearing aids must obtain a Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers and Fitters license, however the exam is waived for audiologists.
The Board of Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers and Fitters shall consist of five professional members and one public member. The professional members shall consist of three licensed hearing instrument specialists, at least one of whom does not hold a license as an audiologist; one otolaryngologist; and one audiologist.
A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Board of Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers and Fitters Laws & Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.