American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Colorado Support Personnel Requirements

The following information includes speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel requirements in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Speech-Language Pathology

School Setting Requirements

School Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

  1. Bachelor's degree in speech-language pathology, speech communication, communication disorders, speech sciences, or a bachelor's degree in any other field with 24 credits in speech-language hearing sciences from an accepted institution of higher education;
  2. Successful completion of a school speech-language pathology assistant program or equivalent, which meets or exceeds recommended guidelines established by a national association of speech-language-hearing professionals;
  3. Successful completion of a minimum of 100 hours school-based practicum, under the supervision of a nationally certified SLP; and
  4. Demonstrated knowledge and skills in the required competencies.
  5. Supervision is 30% total for the first 90 days with 20% being direct supervision and 10% being indirect. After 90 days, 20% total supervision with 10% being direct supervision and 10% being indirect.
  6. Direct supervision may be conducted electronically via a live internet broadcast of video conference by a nationally-certified SLP residing and working in Colorado or within a reasonable commuting distance to Colorado. A school speech-language pathology assistant authorization is valid for five years. The Department of Education may renew the authorization for succeeding five-year periods upon presentation of 50 contact hours of continuing education.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Speech-language pathology assistants are not certified under the state certification law.

Audiology

School Setting Requirements

Audiology support personnel are not regulated in this setting.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Hearing Aid Provider Trainees and Associates

  1. A hearing aid provider trainee is an individual who has not completed 300 hours of training with a licensed audiologist/hearing aid provider and can perform only with on-site, direct supervision of a licensed audiologist or hearing aid provider. The trainee must be supervised at all times.
  2. A hearing aid provider associate is an individual who has completed a minimum of 300 hours of on-site supervised practice with a licensed hearing aid provider or licensed audiologist.
  3. Associates must pass the National Competency Exam of the National Board of Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences.
  4. Trainee or associate status may remain for a maximum of three years from the date of issuance of the license or 60 days after notification of successful completion of the National Board for Certification-Hearing Instrument Science exam, whichever comes first.

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit these websites:

School Setting Requirements:

Department of Education Fast Facts on SLPAs and Their Requirements

Department of Education School SLPAs Authorization

Rules from the Educator Licensing Act (See 4.11-Authorization: School SLPA, for Ages Birth-21) [PDF]

Laws for School Speech-Language Pathology Assistants

Laws and Regulations for Hearing Aid Provider Trainees and Associates [PDF]

To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trend chart which is updated at the end of each calendar year: 

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page