Colorado Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- have passed a written and practical exam
- have proof of having obtained a surety bond or an alternative in an amount not to exceed ten thousand dollars
- have a statement indicating whether any hearing aid provider license, certificate, or registration was issued to the hearing aid provider by a local, state, or national health care agency, whether any such license, certificate, or registration was suspended or revoked, whether charges or complaints are pending against such license, certificate, or registration, and whether disciplinary action was taken
Licensing reciprocity is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Trainees and Associates
A trainee is an individual who has not completed 300 documented hours of training with a licensed hearing aid provider or licensed audiologist in the state of Colorado.
An associate is an individual who has completed a minimum of 300 hours of on‐site supervised practice with a licensed hearing aid provider or licensed audiologist in Colorado and is reported as being competent to the Office of Audiology and Hearing Aid Provider Licensure by a licensed audiologist or hearing aid provider who directly supervised the associate.
An individual may remain in trainee or associate status for no longer than three years from date of issuance of the trainee license or 60 days after notification of successful completion of the examination, whichever comes first.
Thirty hours of continuing education courses related to the practice of audiology or hearing aid providers is only required if a licensee is seeking reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for the two years immediately preceding.
A licensed hearing aid provider who is also an audiologist and is licensed only as an audiologist shall include their license number on all written contracts and receipts.
The Department of Regulatory Agencies makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws.
Facilities, Procedures and Instrumentation
Facilities, procedures and instrumentation are not addressed in the law/regulations.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Audiologists and Hearing Aid Providers Law [PDF]
Audiologist and Hearing Aid Providers Rules and Regulations [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.