Missouri Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Audiologist

Audiologists in the public schools are contract employees and do not fall under specific teacher requirements of the state Department of Education. State licensure issued by the Missouri Division of Professional Registration—Missouri Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists is typically required for practice in the schools.

Speech Language Pathologist

Initial Student Services Certificate, in Speech/Language Pathology (valid for 4 years)

Must meet all the additional requirements in one of the following areas:

(A)  State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts 

  1. Possess a master's or higher degree from a state-approved program for speech-language pathologists;
  2. Possess a valid Missouri license as a speech-language pathologist from the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts; and

Achieve a passing score equal to or in excess of the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s), not to include the principals of learning and teaching. OR

(B)  Teacher Preparation Program

  1. Possess a master's or higher degree from a state-approved program for speech-language pathologists;
  2. The applicant must obtain the recommendation of the designated certification official for a state-approved program for the preparation of a speech-language pathologist; and
  3. Achieve a passing score equal to or in excess of the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s), not to include the principals of learning and teaching.

Citation: Mo. Code Regs. tit. 5, §20-400.180 [PDF]

Continuing Education Requirement

Student Services Certificate Required Professional Development Hours

  • Initial (1–4 years)
    • 40 hours total over 4 years
  • Reactivation
    • 24 hours plus annual
  • Career Certification (5–99 years)
    • 20 annually until exempt
  • PD Exempt Status (2 of 3)
    • 10 years,
    • Next higher degree, or
    • National certification

Emergency Certification

Temporary Authorization Certification requires a bachelor's degree or higher in subject area to be taught or in a closely related field.

Regulatory Oversight

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners