ED Grants NCLB Waivers to Eight Additional States

June 4, 2012

The U.S. Department of Education (ED) has granted waivers from the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) mandates to eight additional states (Connecticut, Delaware, Louisiana, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, and Rhode Island), which brings the total number of states to receive waivers to 19. Eighteen additional applications are still under review. States who receive flexibility from the mandates of NCLB agree to develop state-level plans to prepare all students for college and career, focus aid on the neediest students, and support effective teaching and leadership.

For more information visit ED's website at or contact Catherine D. Clarke, ASHA's director of education and regulatory advocacy, via e-mail at cclarke@asha.org or by phone at 800-498-2071, ext. 5611.

ASHA Corporate Partners