Arizona Support Personnel Requirements

The following information speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel requirements in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Speech-Language Pathology

School Setting Requirements

Speech-Language Technician

  1. A bachelor's degree from an accredited program in speech-language pathology, speech-hearing science, or communication disorders.
  2. A minimum of 50 hours of university supervised observation.
  3. One of the following:
    1. A minimum of 150 university clinical clock hours;
    2. A minimum of 150 clock hours supervised by a master's level licensed speech-language pathologist; or
    3. Two years of experience as a school speech-language therapist or technician.
  4. A passing score on the speech and language impaired special education portion of the Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessment.
  5. One of the following:
    1. A photocopy of a valid Arizona IVP fingerprint card issued on or after January 1, 2008 or
    2. A photocopy of a valid Arizona fingerprint clearance card issued prior to January 1, 2008.
  6. Speech-language technicians must complete 180 clock hours of graduate level coursework every six years in the field of speech pathology or professional development in the areas of articulation, voice, fluency, language disorders, low incidence disabilities, professional issues, ethics, or service delivery models.

Note: No new applications for a speech-language technician certificate will be accepted after June 30, 2014.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Speech-Language Pathology Assistants

  1. Speech-language pathology assistants must be licensed with the state Department of Health Services in all settings (no exemption for school-based individuals).
  2. To be eligible for licensure as a speech-language pathologist assistant, an applicant shall have completed an approved training program or the equivalent from a nationally or regionally accredited college or university consisting of a minimum of 60 semester credit hours and a minimum of 100 hours of clinical interaction under the supervision of a licensed master's level speech-language pathologist, not had a license revoked/suspended by a state within the past two years, and is not presently ineligible for licensure in any state because of a prior revocation or suspension.
  3. All services of a SLP assistant are performed under the direction and supervision of a state licensed SLP who has at least two years of full-time professional experience.
  4. The licensed supervisor may direct not more than two full-time or three part-time SLP assistants at one time.
  5. A minimum of 20% direct supervision and 10% indirect supervision is required of all the time that the assistant is providing services during the first 90 days of employment.
  6. After the first 90 days a minimum of 10% direct and 10% indirect supervision is required.
  7. All periods of supervisions are to be documented and each client should be informed when the services of a SLP assistant are being provided.
  8. Ten hours of continuing education each year in areas related to clinical services is required.


School Setting Requirements


Statutory and Regulatory Requirements



For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit these websites:

School Setting Requirements:

Certification for Speech-Language Technician

Laws and Regulations:

To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trend charts which are updated periodically:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners