Committee on Honors

Liaisons with the Immediate Past President.


Receive nominations for Honors, Fellows, and other Association awards; elect Fellows by a two-thirds vote; transmit nominations for Honors to the Board of Directors where a 75% vote is needed for election.


The Committee on Honors comprises 3 audiologists, 3 SLPs, and 3 members who could be either profession, all of whom are Fellows and are in good standing with the Association, and are appointed by the Committee on Committees.  


  • Sharon E. Moss , Chair
  • Jaynee A. Handelsman, Board Liaison
  • Paul Kileny, Vice-Chair
  • Joan M. Besing
  • Shelly S. Chabon
  • Stephanie A. Davidson
  • Dennis C. Hampton
  • Julie B. Noel
  • Janet P. Patterson
  • Brian B. Shulman


3 years


  • 2 meetings annually (June and Committee Day at the ASHA Convention)
  • Attendance at the Award Ceremony at Convention
  • 2-4 conference calls per year
  • 20 hours per month from April - June
  • 2-3 hours per month the rest of the year

Desired Service Qualifications/Experiences

  • Current ASHA member
  • Fellow of ASHA
  • Consecutive terms not permitted

Staff Liaison

Marty Moore, ex officio (