American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Autism Related Services

Tennessee Mandates Coverage for Treatment of Autism

Legislation mandating coverage for treatment for autism related services is an active area. There are 16 states that cover autism related services including: CA, CT, GA, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MT, NH, NJ, NY, TX, and VA.

Tennessee recently mandated coverage for autism treatment. Sample legislative language is included here from several of these states. Autism can sometimes be classified under a number of different terms, including "serious mental illness" or "pervasive developmental disability." Parents of children with autism are a proactive group so finding consumer support for your legislative effort in this area is easy.

Tennessee Bill Enacting Coverage for Treatment of Autism, July 2006 [PDF]

Sample Legislation and Information from Other States Covering Autism Related Services:

Treatment Efficacy Summary on Autistic Spectrum Disorders [PDF]

Introduction | Getting Started | Hearing Aids | Cognitive Rehabilitation | You Can Do It!

Share This Page

Print This Page