American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

ASHA State Education Advocacy Leaders (SEALs)

State Advocacy Networks - sealsState Education Advocacy Leaders (SEALs) are appointed by ASHA recognized state speech-language hearing associations to advocate on education issues. These issues may include caseload/workload, salary supplements, and maintenance of personnel standards in school settings. SEALs can be speech-language pathologists or audiologists. The State Education Advocacy Leaders were established in 1999 under ASHA's Priorities. The mission of the SEALs network is to enhance and perpetuate the advocacy, leadership, and clinical management skills of school-based ASHA members at the state and local levels to influence administrative and public policy decisions that affect the delivery of speech-language pathology and audiology services in school settings.

Do you have an education issue in your state that needs to be addressed? Find your state's SEAL below and e-mail them your concerns.

For more information on SEALs activities in states contact Eileen Crowe, ASHA's Director for State Association Relations, by e-mail at ECrowe@asha.org.


Contact Information

Alabama
Taryn Hopper
thopper@homewood.k12.al.us

Alaska
Laura Young Campbell
laurayc@yahoo.com

Arizona
Karen LaBrozzi
labrozzik@cox.net  

Arkansas
Carol Fleming
carol.fleming@lrsd.org

California
Holly Kaiser
holly@hkconsult.biz

Colorado
Lisa J. Gessini
Lisa_Gessini@dpsk12.org

Connecticut
Julie Zellner
srjaz@comcast.net

Delaware
Ruth Wolfe
ruthvwolfe@comcast.net

District of Columbia
Teresita Foster
Incanato@earthlink.net

Florida
Laura Rogers
laurarogers53@att.net

Georgia
Jill Shedd
jgshedd@yahoo.com

Hawaii 
Vacant 

Idaho
Pam Waldorf
pam.waldorf@boiseschools.org

Illinois
Karen Kockler
kkockler@district158.org

Indiana
C. Lynn Myers
lynnspeech@hotmail.com

Iowa
Darla Sharar
dsharar@aea267.k12.ia.us

Kansas
Caryn Gustin
caryn3girls@gmail.com

Amy Kuhn
amkuhn@kckps.org

Judy Smith
jusmith@kckps.org

Kentucky
Sherry Hoza
shoza1@insightbb.com

Louisiana
Vacant

Maine
Sabrina Reed
sreed@msad58.org

Maryland
Lori Crum Sweely
geesslp@yahoo.com

Massachusetts
Sharon Parisi
ticklefeather@comcast.net

Michigan
Lindsey Halpin
slphalpin@me.com

Sue Shores
sueshores@yahoo.com

Minnesota
Martin Templeton
mwtemple@paulbunyan.net

Mississippi
Melissa Ladner
melissa.ladner@gmail.com

Rachel Powell
mssealtoo@gmail.com

Missouri
Beth McKerlie
emckerli@nkcschools.org

Montana
Janis Hayes-Strom
hayes-stromj@billingsschools.org

Nebraska
Vacant

Nevada
Nancy Kuhles
kuhles119@sbcglobal.net

Roberta Johnson
RLJohnson@washoeschools.net

New Hampshire
Vacant

New Jersey
Mary Faella
mfspeech@yahoo.com

New Mexico
Allison Trujillo
atruheo@gmail.com

New York
Karen McCrossen
karen_mccrossen@gateschili.monroe.edu

North Carolina
Robin Blumberg
Robin.blumberg@yahoo.com

Wendy Lybrand
wlybrand@chccs.k12.nc.us

North Dakota
Linda Hoag
linda_hoag@educ8.org

Ohio
Dawn Betts
Betts_d@ccesc.org

Oklahoma
Kathy Wheat
kwheat28@gmail.com

Oregon
Janet Wagner
jwagnerslp@gmail.com

Overseas
Kim Gardner-Pumah
Bella14agosto@yahoo.com

Pennsylvania
Melinda St. George
mstgeorge@dciu.org

Rhode Island
Ellen Moore
Ellebmoore@aol.com

South Carolina
Peggy Neel
pneel@greenville.k12.sc.us

South Dakota
Julie Mairose
Julie.Mairose@k12.sd.us

Tennessee
Paulette W. Gentry
paulette.gentry@mnps.org

Texas
Linda Keesee
linda.keesee@gmail.com

Utah
Laurel Brown
laurelobrown@hotmail.com

Vermont
Monica Menard
mmenard@ocsu.org, schoolaffairs@vsha.us

Virginia
Jacquelyn Ragland
Jacquelyn.Ragland@charlottesvilleschools.org

Washington
Elaine Brockway
ebrock2@uw.edu

Kate Krings
krings@uw.edu

West Virginia
Lisa McKinney Jackson
lisa_slp717@hotmail.com

Wisconsin
Dawn Merth-Johnson
rivcoach.johnson@gmail.com

Wyoming
Mary McCarty
mmcarty@goshen.k12wy.us

The contact information was current at the time it was submitted to ASHA by the network representative.


ASHA Advocacy | State Advocacy

Share This Page

Print This Page