South Carolina Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- Postgraduate degree in speech-language pathology or audiology from a school determined by the board to be equivalent to ASHA accreditation; and
- Completion of 9 months (30 clock hours per week) of full-time, supervised professional employment; and
- Passage of an examination; or
- Meet ASHA's standards for the certificate of clinical competence or its equivalent, in effect at the time of the application; or
- Have current ASHA CCC's or its equivalent as approved by the Board
- Federal/State employees or employees of a political subdivision, while engaged in official duties unless licensed by the Board
- Hearing aid dealers/fitters
- Registered nurses, LPNs or other certified technicians under the direction of a physician, otological consultants, or licensed audiologists
- Other persons licensed by the state whose scope of practice overlaps with the practice of speech-language pathology or audiology
The Board may issue a license to a person licensed in another state with substantially equivalent standards and if the person satisfies any other requirements prescribed by the Board, including continuing education.
- Individuals who have completed their post-graduate degree but not yet taken the exam or lack the supervised professional employment, must apply for an intern license.
- Those who have not passed the exam must do so within 12 months of receiving the intern license; an intern license is valid for only 1 year and may be renewed only once if completing the supervised professional employment requirement.
- Interns must complete 8 hours of continuing education per license period.
License holders must complete 16 hours of continuing education per license period; licensees must maintain records of CE hours earned for a period of 4 years.
South Carolina does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.
Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.