American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Rhode Island Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiologist

  1. Doctorate degree in audiology from a regionally accredited educational institution or national accrediting organization as approved by the Board of Examiners.
  2. Passage of a national exam
  3. Present evidence of a 12-month, full-time, supervised practicum experience
  4. Verification of ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) or other national accrediting association approved by the Board of Examiners
  5. If applicable, verification of licensure status in other states
  6. Be of good moral character

Speech Language Pathologist

  1. Master's or doctorate degree or equivalent from an accredited educational institution accredited by Council on Academic Accreditation or other national accrediting association approved by the Board of Examiners.
  2. Supervised clinical practicum in accordance with current minimum requirements for the certificate of clinical competence
  3. Cumulative or equivalent total of 9 months of full-time professional postgraduate employment as a trainee or fellow
  4. Passage of a national exam
  5. Verification of ASHA certificate of clinical competence or other national accrediting association as approved by the Board of Examiners
  6. If applicable, verification of licensure status in other states
  7. Be of good moral character

Exemptions

  1. Hearing aid dealers/fitters
  2. Licensed professionals practicing within their authorized scope of practice
  3. Government employees unless performing any private practice for which a fee is paid

Reciprocity

Persons licensed as an audiologist in alternate jurisdictions on or before January 1, 2008, shall meet the requirements of this state that were in effect at the time of the initial licensure in the alternate jurisdiction.

Interim Practice

Clinical fellows must obtain a provisional license. A provisional license can be renewed annually but not to exceed 36 moths past initiation of the postgraduate professional experience (PPE) and otherwise will expire 90 days after the completion of the PPE.

Continuing Education

Twenty clock hours are required per biennium for license renewal. Dual licensees must obtain 30 clock hours every two years. Continuing education hours may not be carried over from one renewal period to the next.

Telepractice

Rhode Island does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page