American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

New Hampshire Requirements for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology

  1. Master's or doctoral degree from a recognized educational institution 
  2. 350 hours of supervised clinical practicum (for holders of a master's degree)
  3. Nine months postgraduate professional experience
  4. Passage of a national exam or valid Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) issued by ASHA

Speech-Language Pathology

  1. Master's degree or higher in speech-language pathology, communications sciences and disorders, or communications disorders from an approved educational program accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Speech-Language Pathology or its predecessor organization(s)
  2. 400 clock hours of supervised clinical practicum
  3. Nine months supervised postgraduate professional experience
  4. Passage of a national Praxis exam or valid Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) issued by ASHA

Exemptions

Audiology

  1. Students, interns, and trainees clearly designated by title and under supervision
  2. Persons engaging in the profession for which they are licensed
  3. Physicians
  4. Persons licensed in another jurisdiction with equal or greater requirements and who are practicing audiology 20 days or less in New Hampshire in any calendar year

Speech-Language Pathology

  1. Speech language specialists certified under the Board of Education
  2. Speech language assistants employed by public schools and schools approved by the Department of Education
  3. Students, interns, and trainees clearly designated by title and under supervision

Reciprocity

Audiology

Applicants licensed in another state with equivalent or greater standards

Speech-Language Pathology

If licensed in another jurisdiction, may be licensed if person hold CCCs and are "active in the profession" (defined as having been professionally engaged at least 432 hours in another jurisdiction during the 36 months immediately prior to applying for licensure).

Interim Practice

Audiology

  1. Audiology applicants who satisfy all requirements for licensure except completion of a supervised postgraduate professional experience may obtain an interim license; interim license is valid for one year and may be renewed by the Board of Hearing Care Providers.
  2. A temporary license may be granted for up to 120 days to a person from another jurisdiction if the person is licensed in another state with equivalent requirements and the person has applied for a license.

Speech Language Pathology

  1. Applicants for a speech language pathology license may receive a provisional license to practice while completing the post-graduate professional experience; such license is limited to 12 months for full-time employees and 36 months for part-time.
  2. Conditional licenses for speech-language pathology are available for individuals who do not hold a valid CCC and are not active in the profession but meet education, training, and continuing competence requirements as specified in rules. Conditional licensees shall practice under supervision of a New Hampshire licensed speech-language pathologist; such licenses are valid for 36 weeks.

Continuing Education

  1. Audiologists must complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years.
  2. Speech language pathologists must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years.

Telepractice

New Hampshire does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page