American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

North Carolina Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Audiologist

Special Service Personnel Licensing

  1. One of the following:
    • Completion of an approved program in audiology at the master's level or above
    • Certificate of Clinical Competence from ASHA
    • A license from the North Carolina Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
      and
  2. Passage of the NTE/Praxis in Audiology

Continuing Education Requirement

7.5 units of renewal credit every five years.

Speech-Language Pathologist

Special Service Personnel Licensing

State License

Effective July 1, 2011, the North Carolina State Board of Education will accept only a current valid North Carolina Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists (NCBOESLPA) license as the qualifying credential for service in public schools.

  1. Master's degree or equivalent
  2. Evidence of the completion of 75 semester hours constituting a well-integrated program of course study dealing with the normal aspects of human communication, development thereof, disorders thereof, and clinical techniques for evaluation and management of such disorders
  3. 400 clock hours of supervised direct clinical experience
  4. Nine months full-time supervised professional experience
  5. Passage of an examination

Continuing Education Requirement

Grandfathered DPI licensed SLPs (licensed and employed in public schools prior to July 1, 2011, and holding continuously a current un-expired DPI Professional Educator's SLP License) — 7.5 units of renewal credit are required every five years. Beginning January 1, 2009, each licensee must complete 30 hours every three years sponsored by ASHA, or the North Carolina Department of Public Instrucion, or other courses approved by the Board as similar to courses offered by any of these organizations. NCBOESLPA licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing professional education every 3 years.

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page