Mississippi Licensing Requirements for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. It is intended for informational use only, and should not be construed as legal advice.
Contact the state's licensure board or regulatory agency for exact licensure, certification, or registration requirements in your jurisdiction.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Master's degree with a major emphasis in speech-language pathology, audiology, communicative disorders, or speech and hearing science or equivalent from an ASHA-accredited program or any other national accrediting body recognized by Mississippi State Board of Health (the Board).
- Completion of nine months of supervised professional employment; for applicants with a doctoral degree, the supervised professional employment may be met prior to the awarding of the degree if it is part of the course of study. If not, the supervised professional employment shall begin after the degree is awarded.
- Passage of an exam (score 600)
- Physicians or physician-supervised personnel who conduct hearing testing
- Hearing aid dispensers
- Federal employees
- Public and private school employees
- Students appropriately designated as speech-language pathology or audiology interns or trainees
- Hearing tester employed by a private industry or firm for services relative to its employees and employment practices
- Persons licensed in Mississippi practicing within the scope of their profession
- Volunteers, within the confines of the organization for which they work
- The Board may waive the examination for licensure for any applicant currently licensed in another state with equivalent standards.
- The Board shall waive the examination for licensure for any applicant who is a Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) holder.
Interim Practice/Temporary Licensure
- The Board shall issue a temporary license to an applicant who fulfills all requirements for licensure except for the supervised professional employment and/or the exam; licenses are issued for a two year period; applicants who have completed the supervised professional employment but have not passed the exam in another jurisdiction are not eligible for a license of any type until an exam is passed.
- Temporary licensees must meet the same continuing education requirements as regularly licensed practioners, and practice is limited to the state of Mississippi.
- A nonresident who meets the qualifications for licensure may offer speech-language pathology or audiology services for no more than five days in any calendar year if provided in cooperation with a state licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist.
- A nonresident licensed under the laws of another state with equivalent requirements or who holds a CCC may offer speech-language pathology or audiology services for no more than 30 days in any calendar year if provided in cooperation with a state licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist.
Continuing Education for Licensure Renewal
Twenty contact hours or two Continuing Eduction Units (CEUs) per two-year renewal period; excess hours may not be carried over from one renewal period to the next; 10 hours must be directly related to clinical practice.
Mississippi Department of Health, Professional Licensure Division, Council of Advisors in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
The Council of Advisors in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is established under the Mississippi State Board of Health and is comprised of seven members; two speech-language pathologists, two audiologists, two members of the public who are also licensed health professionals interested in the consumption of speech or audiology services and one licensed physician board certified in otolaryngology; all council members who are speech-language pathologists and audiologists shall at all times hold a current and valid license in the state and be holders of the ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence or its equivalent; the Mississippi Speech Language Hearing Association shall submit the names of three persons each year for any vacancies and the Mississippi Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat Association will submit names of three persons for the otolaryngologist vacancies.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on state licensure requirements, contact the state board and visit Mississippi State Department of Health.
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.