Missouri Licensing Requirements for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. It is intended for informational use only, and should not be construed as legal advice.
Contact the state's licensure board or regulatory agency for exact licensure, certification, or registration requirements in your jurisdiction.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Applicants must provide evidence of good moral and ethical character
- Master's or doctoral degree from an ASHA Council on Academic Accreditation (CAA) accredited program or other accrediting agency approved by the Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
- Evidence of completion of coursework and clinical practicum equivalent to that required by the CAA
- Clinical fellowship; persons with an audiology clinical doctorate degree are exempt from this provision.
- Passage of a national exam
- Federal employees
- Certified teachers of the deaf
- Physicians and surgeons
- Council for Accreditation in Occupational Hearing Conservation (CAOHC) technicians
- Public school employees with a certificate issued by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education while providing services in the school system
- When a fee is charged or compensation received, individual must be licensed; this includes college or university clinics that charge a fee, supervisors of student clinicians shall be licensed.
- The Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists may issue a license to an applicant licensed in another jurisdiction with equivalent or more stringent standards.
- The Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists may issue a license to a Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) holder.
Interim Practice/Temporary Licensure
- The Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists shall issue a provisional license to an applicant who has met the requirements for practicum and academic requirements from an accredited training program and is beginning the supervised postgraduate professional experience.
- A provisional license is effective for one year; it may be extended for 12 months only for the purpose of completing the postgraduate clinical experience and only after the applicant has passed the national exam and holds a master's degree.
Continuing Education for Licensure Renewal
- Licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing education per biennium.
- Continuing education hours cannot be carried over to the next reporting period.
Missouri Division of Professional Registration, Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
The Advisory Commission for Speech Language Pathologists and Audiologists shall comprise seven members, one of whom shall be a voting public member, appointed by the Board of Registration for the Healing Arts; three members shall be licensed speech-language pathologists and three members shall be licensed audiologists; the public member must not be nor ever have been connected to the professions of speech-language pathology or audiology in any way, must not be the spouse of such a person, nor have any financial interest in professional services offered by speech-language pathologists or audiologists. For a speech language pathologist vacancy, the president of the Missouri Speech Language Hearing Association (MSHA) and for audiologists, the president of the Missouri Academy of Audiologists, shall in consultation with MSHA submit a list of five qualified persons along with a description of the method by which the names were chosen to the director of the Missouri Division of Professional Regulation to fill the vacancy.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on state licensure requirements, contact the state board and visit Missouri Division of Professional Registration.
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.