Kansas Licensing Requirements for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. It is intended for informational use only, and should not be construed as legal advice.
Contact the state's licensure board or regulatory agency for exact licensure, certification, or registration requirements in your jurisdiction.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Master's degree or equivalent from an educational institution with standards consistent with those of the state universities of Kansas or accredited by ASHA
- 400 hours supervised clinical practicum, at least 325 hours at graduate level, in the area in which licensure is sought
- Completion of supervised 9-month postgraduate professional experience
- Passage of a National Teachers Exam Specialty Area test administered by ETS
- Persons employed by the federal government
- Health care providers under the Kansas Healing Arts Act acting within their lawful scope of practice
- Persons credentialed by the state as teachers of the deaf or hearing impaired
- Supervised students properly identified as interns, trainees, or other such title indicating their status
- Persons under the supervision of a licensed physician or surgeon
- Persons licensed to dispense or fit hearing aids
- Each application shall be evaluated by comparing qualifications met to obtain the original license and any subsequent licenses with the current qualifications for Kansas licensure
- Applicant must also be in good standing with no administrative or disciplinary actions pending or in effect.
Interim Practice/Temporary Licensure
- Applicants who have completed the education and clinical practicum, but not the supervised postgraduate professional experience or the exam or both, shall apply for a temporary license. This license is good for a 12-month period and may be renewed once.
- A temporary license may be issued to applicants for reinstatement to complete continuing education requirements.
Continuing Education for Licensure Renewal
Applicants must complete 20 hours of documented and approved continuing education per each two-year renewal period; applicants licensed in both speech-language pathology and audiology must complete 30 hours of documented and approved continuing education; excess hours may not be carried over to the subsequent renewal period.
Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Health Occupations Credentialing, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Advisory Board
Note: In 2012 the Kansas legislature voted to transfer all duties of the Secretary of Health and Environment regarding speech-language pathology and audiology to the Secretary of Aging.
The Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Advisory Board shall be comprised of five persons; two members shall be speech-language pathologists, one member shall be an audiologist, one member shall be a person licensed to practice medicine and surgery, and one member shall be a member of the general public who is not a health care provider.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on state licensure requirements, contact the state board and visit The Kansas Department of Health and Environment.
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.