American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Delaware Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Audiologist

State License

  1. Doctoral degree from an accredited college/university
  2. Nine months full time or 18 months part-time supervised clinical fellowship year
  3. Passage of a national exam prepared by a national testing service and approved by the Division of Professional Regulation

License by Reciprocity

Applicants may apply for reciprocity licensure for audiology from a state whose standards are substantially similar to Delaware (doctoral degree).

Temporary License

A temporary license is valid for one year from the date of issuance and may be renewed for one year in extenuating circumstances upon application to the Board of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists. The licensee shall take the examination at least once prior to submitting a request for renewal of the temporary license.

Continuing Education Requirement

Must complete 30 CE hours per biennial renewal cycle; dual license must complete 15 CEs in each specialty area per two-year license

Speech-Language Pathologist

Speech-language pathologists working in any setting are required to hold an active Delaware license before delivering services. This includes schools.

State License

  1. Master's degree or equivalent from an accredited college/university with a major emphasis in speech language pathology, audiology, communication disorders, or speech language and hearing science
  2. Four hundred hours supervised clinical practicum (at least 250 hours in the area of specialty must have been obtained at the graduate level)
  3. Nine months full time or 18 months part-time supervised clinical fellowship year
  4. Passage of a national exam prepared by a national testing service and approved by the Division of Professional Regulation

License by Reciprocity

Applicants may apply for reciprocity licensure for speech-language pathology from a state whose standards are substantially similar to Delaware.

Temporary License

A temporary license is valid for one year from the date of issuance and may be renewed for one year in extenuating circumstances upon application to the Board of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists. The licensee shall take the examination at least once prior to submitting a request for renewal of the temporary license.

Continuing Education Requirement

Must complete 30 CE hours per biennial renewal cycle; dual license must complete 15 CEs in each specialty area per two-year license

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page