American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Colorado Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology

  1. Doctorate from an audiology program that is accredited by a national, regional, or state agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or another program approved by the Director
  2. Master's degree from a program accredited a national, regional, or state agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or another program approved by the Director that was conferred before July 1, 2007, and has obtained a certificate of competency in audiology from a nationally recognized certification agency
  3. A statement regarding any license suspension, revocation, or disciplinary actions taken
  4. If providing services to patients, must submit proof of malpractice/professional liability insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 per incident and $3,000,000 aggregate per year

Speech-Language Pathology (Certification Effective July 1, 2013)

  1. Master's or higher degree in communication sciences and disorders granted by an accredited institution of higher education recognized by the US Department of Education. 
  2. Clinical Fellowship
  3. Passage of a national exam
  4. If providing services to patients, must submit proof of professional liability insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 per incident and $3,000,000 aggregate per year 

Exemptions

Audiology

  1. Employees or contractors of public schools 
  2. Individuals employed by the United States Armed Forces, Public Health Service, Coast Guard or Veteran's Administration
  3. Students enrolled in a course of study at an accredited institution and practicing under the supervision of a licensed audiologist
  4. Licensed individuals engaging in activities within their scope of practice

Speech-Language Pathology

  1. School speech-language pathologists whose compensation is paid solely by an administrative unit or state-operated program
  2. Licensed individuals engaging in activities within their scope of practice
  3. Students enrolled in a course of study at an accredited institution and pursuing a degree in speech-language pathology in an accredited program
  4. Clinical Fellows
  5. Qualified speech-language pathologists from another state or country on a temporary basis of once in any 12 month period.

Reciprocity

Speech-language pathology applicants may apply for certification by endorsement by holding a current, valid license in a jurisdiction with substantially equivalent qualifications.

Interim Practice

The director shall grant a temporary license to any applicant who has obtained a master's or doctorate degree in audiology and is practicing audiology in a year of clinical fellowship; this temporary registration is not valid for more than 12 months.

Although a clinical fellowship is required for state licensure, Colorado does not license individuals completing their clinical fellowship year.

Continuing Education

The continuing competency program for speech-language pathologists will go into effect on July 1, 2014. Continuing competencies must be met prior to renewing in 2015.

Telepractice

Colorado does not currently regulate telepractice. For information on states that do regulate telepractice, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Regulatory Oversight

Department of Regulatory Agencies:

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page