Colorado Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Audiologist

Initial Special Services License for School Audiologist-Endorsement (Ages 0–21)

  1. Master's or higher degree from an accepted institution of higher education or, for candidates who graduate after 2007, hold a clinical doctorate from an accepted institution of higher education
  2. Completed an approved program in school audiology
  3. Completed a practicum or internship in a school setting equivalent to a minimum of eight weeks, full-time, under the supervision of a professionally licensed or masters-level licensed audiologist
  4. Passed Praxis II Audiology (0342 or 5342), Passing Score 170

Valid for 3 years.

Special Services License for Audiologist

A special services professional license may be issued to an applicant who:

  1. Holds a Colorado Initial Special Services License
  2. Has successfully completed a special services provider induction program rules and/or has been recommended for the special services license by the district or BOCES providing such induction program
  3. If an out-of-state applicant holds a license from another state for which standards of issuance are comparable to Colorado's licensing requirements and has three or more years of full-time, continuous, successful, evaluated experience as a special services provider in an established elementary or secondary school and provides documentation of such employment, that applicant will be exempted from Colorado's induction program requirement for licensure and be issued a professional license.
  4. An applicant for a professional license need not complete an approved induction program as an initial special services license-holder if the applicant previously completed an induction program while teaching under an adjunct instructor authorization, an emergency authorization, an interim authorization or a temporary educator eligibility authorization. If the applicant is employed by a school district or BOCES that has obtained a waiver of the induction program requirement, the applicant shall demonstrate completion of any requirements specified in the school district's plan for support, assistance and training of an initially licensed educator.

Valid for 5 years.

Master Certificate-Special Services

A master certificate shall be valid for the period of time for which the applicant's professional special services license is valid and renewable as provided issuance of a master certificate shall extend the validity of the professional special services license to seven years.

A master certificate may be issues to an applicant who:

  1. Holds a valid Colorado Professional Special Services License and is employed in a school in the area of specialization 
  2. Has been involved in ongoing professional development and training 
  3. Has demonstrated advanced competencies or expertise as identified by the educator evaluation system employed in the district
  4. Has been recognized for outstanding achievements in the field of specialization
  5. Meets the following requirements for the area(s) of specialization: 
    • Holds national certification in audiology 
    • Has completed at least five years of full-time, continuous, successful, evaluated experience as a school audiologist 
    • Has completed graduate-level university training in school audiology and related areas 
    • Has been involved in at least four of the following areas: local, state, or national professional organizations; mentoring or supervision of peers; publication; professional presentations; funded grants; professional leadership; community activities and organizations; and has been granted an exemplary performance evaluation by a team of peers.

Continuing Education Requirement

Six semester hours or 90 clock hours of approved continuing education are required every five years.

Speech-Language Pathologist

Initial Special Services License for Speech-Language Pathologist Endorsement (Ages 0–21)

  1. Master's degree or higher, communications disorders or speech-language pathology from an accredited institution of higher education. 
  2. Completion of an approved program in school speech-language pathology program from an institution whose program was accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation (CAA) in audiology and speech-language pathology of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).
  3. Supply an institutional recommendation which verifies the following:
    • Completion of the approved program
    • States the area of endorsement/specialization completed
    • Verifies successful completion of an internship or practicum in a school setting or other appropriate setting
    • Certifies that the applicant has demonstrated thorough knowledge of the special service area and has the competencies essential for educational service
    • Passage of Praxis (5331), Passing Score 162 or ASHA certification

Valid for 3 years.

Professional Special Services License

A special services professional license may be issued to an applicant who:

  1. Holds a Colorado Initial Special Services License
  2. Has successfully completed a special services provider induction program rules and/or has been recommended for the special services license by the district or BOCES providing such induction program
  3. If an out-of-state applicant holds a license from another state for which standards of issuance are comparable to Colorado's licensing requirements and has three or more years of full-time, continuous, successful, evaluated experience as a special services provider in an established elementary or secondary school and provides documentation of such employment, that applicant will be exempted from Colorado's induction program requirement for licensure and be issued a professional license.
  4. An applicant for a professional license need not complete an approved induction program as an initial teacher or initial special services license-holder if the applicant previously completed an induction program while teaching under an adjunct instructor authorization, an emergency authorization, an interim authorization or a temporary educator eligibility authorization. If the applicant is employed by a school district or BOCES that has obtained a waiver of the induction program requirement, the applicant shall demonstrate completion of any requirements specified in the school district’s plan for support, assistance and training of an initially licensed educator.  

Valid for 5 years.

Master Certificate-Special Services

  1. A master certificate shall be valid for the period of time for which the applicant's professional special services license is valid and renewable as provided issuance of a master certificate shall extend the validity of the professional special services license to seven years. 
  2. A master certificate may be issues to an applicant who:
    • Holds a valid Colorado Professional Special Services License and is employed in a school in the area of specialization
    • Has been involved in ongoing professional development and training 
    • Has demonstrated advanced competencies or expertise as identified by the educator evaluation system employed in the district 
    • Has been recognized for outstanding achievements in the field of specialization
  3. Meets the following requirements for the area(s) of specialization: 
    • Has demonstrated commitment through involvement in local, state and national professional organizations
    • Has accepted additional responsibilities at the school, district, state and national levels
    • Has published appropriate materials at the district, state or national levels
    • Has presented original research and materials at professional conferences
    • Has supervised practicum and internship students
    • Has mentored and supervised other speech/language pathologists.

Continuing Education Requirement

Six semester hours or 90 clock hours of approved continuing education are required every five years.

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

ASHA Corporate Partners