American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Alabama Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology

Applicants for an audiology license whose degree was earned and conferred after January 1, 2007, must evidence:

  • ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) or an equivalent certification from an accrediting association or academy, or:
  1. Doctoral degree in audiology from an educational institution approved by the Board of Examiners;
  2. Successful completion of supervised clinical practicum experiences (fourth year internship of 1,820 hours) from an educational institution, or its cooperating programs, that is approved by the Board of Examiners;
  3. Passage of a national exam or any equivalent exam approved by the Board of Examiners; and
  4. Be a citizen of the United States or a person legally present

Note: Nothing in this section shall prevent the continued licensure of an audiologist who received licensure before January 1, 2007.

Speech-Language Pathology

Applicants for a speech-language pathology license, must evidence:

  • ASHA CCC or equivalent certification from an accrediting association or academy, or:
  1. Master's degree or equivalent from an educational institution approved by the Board of Examiners;
  2. Successful completion of supervised clinical practicum experiences from an educational institution, or its cooperating programs, that is approved by the Board of Examiners;
  3. Successful completion of a nine-month postgraduate professional experience;
  4. Passage of a national exam or any equivalent exam approved by the Board of Examiners; and
  5. Be a citizen of the United States or a person legally present with appropriate documentation

Exemptions

  1. Physicians and their supervisees
  2. Hearing aid fitters and dealers
  3. Credentialed speech and hearing specialists (issued by the Alabama Department of Education solely within the confines of the organization by which they are employed)
  4. Federal employees
  5. Students
  6. Clinical Fellows or fourth-year interns if registered with the Board of Examiners
  7. Licensed individuals engaging in the profession for which they are licensed
  8. Persons who are not state licensed but who meet state licensure requirements may provide services for no more than seven days per calendar year if performed in cooperation with a state licensee; however, the Board of Examiners must be notified.
  9. Persons licensed in another state with equivalent standards or CCC holders may provide services for no more than 30 days per calendar year if performed in cooperation with a state licensee; however, the Board of Examiners must be notified.

Reciprocity

The Board may allow persons licensed in another state with equivalent standards or CCC holders to obtain licensure without undergoing the full licensure requirements.

Interim Practice

  • A person holding a valid CCC and/or equivalent certification including an active license in audiology or speech language pathology in another state may practice during the interim period between submission of licensure application form and Board of Examiners action.
  • Clinical fellows and fourth-year interns must register with the Board of Examiners.

Continuing Education

The licensee must participate in CEU activities of at least 12 clock hours for each license period. A minimum of 10 of the required 12 hours of continuing education must improve the professional competency of the licensee in the area of licensure, or Content Area I (refer to Alabama Rules and Regulations [PDF] for approved list). One of the ten hours should be in the area of ethics. A maximum of two of the required 12 hours can be in an area related to the area of licensure but must improve the professional competency of the licensee, or Content Area II (see Alabama Rules and Regulations [PDF]). Dual licensees must complete 24 clock hours with hours equally distributed between the two areas. Licensees with dual licenses shall complete two of the 24 hours in ethics.

Telepractice

For information on Alabama telepractice regulations, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Alabama Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology and Audiology

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page